Toyota Vacaville

2.2
Overall Rating

Customer Service: 1.9 Quality Of Work: 1.9 Friendliness: 2.6 Pricing: 3.0 Overall Experience: 1.7


By clicking the button, you agree to our submitted.

Great price, manager increased it after we got there, meh

3.2
Abe on 10/11/2016

Customer Service: 2.0 Friendliness: 4.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 2.0

Summary: I got a great price on the same day I first contacted them (after showing them a better offer from another dealer). Megan found the exact car we wanted and got it from another dealership. The price was better than Costco or Truecar and we're happy with the new car. However, the purchase experience at the dealership was not good, just okay at best. About $100 in extra costs after repeatedly confirming the "out the door" cost wouldn't change (it increased twice). They had us inspect the car for issues in the dark. It took a frustratingly long time to finish (6:20pm until nearly 9:00pm in spite of negotiating the price in advance). Details: Buying a 2017 RAV4 XLE with my mom (who's a bit hard of hearing). I emailed a dozen fleet / internet managers from Daly City to Sacramento to Santa Rosa. Ultimately Megan Mendez at Vacaville gave me the best price available in the area on this particular car. I liked Megan, very easy to deal with, I'd recommend her!MSRP was $28,846.Price was $26,250 + tax, title, license (TTL)Out the door (OTD) was $28,812. Vacaville Toyota required a $1,000 deposit and completion of a financing application in order to get the car transferred from another dealership. They actually sent the driver out to get it before we did the financing application though. It took over 5 hours to get it from Steven's Creek because of traffic.When we arrived they said the car had just arrived too and they'd get it washed for us to check out (we wouldn't see the car for another 90 minutes though). After waiting 20 minutes at a desk, Megan found another sales person to help us (they were both nice). We spent the next hour completing forms and another financing application though none of the info from the initial application--which the manager had insisted on to pick up the car from the other dealer--transferred to this application, another waste of time. After a short test drive we got the purchase and finance docs (manager apparently needed more than an hour to process/print them) which were $75 higher than we had agreed on. Apparently they'd included a zip code that was off by a digit - which miscalculated the taxes and fees by the $75. It was their mistake but they wouldn't honor the lower OTD price because "you were emailed a paper with it and didn't catch it." I told them a free oil change would make up for the mistake (because I had a very similar car available elsewhere for what was suddenly a lower price) but their General Manager told our sales person they wouldn't budge. After nearly 2 hours already wasted we decided it wasn't worth it to walk away and start over at the other dealership but I (repeatedly) told them it was frustrating do be delayed and for the price to increase. After a series of forms to sign explaining the warranty, a request for a 10/10 rating from Toyota's survey and a Yelp review (check) we went to the finance desk in the back while they did the final inspection/detailing of the car, "should be another 30 minutes" (it took another hour). They allow up to $3,000 of the purchase to be on a credit card. Finance guy was pleasant (including easily giving up when I told him we don't want the extended warranty). During the finance review we noticed the fees were $7 HIGHER AGAIN for no explained reason. For the second time I was asking, "why higher price?" They said it was just different calculation systems (DealerSocket vs. Route One). Again, no accommodation on their mistake (again, to their benefit) from the manager and General Manager.The sale terms were explained pretty quickly (skipping some detail but nothing suspicious, just trying to explain without wasting time). Then out to the car for a walk through of the features and pairing the cell phone. They were helpful but were not considerate of my repeated requests to finish up because (1) we were more than an hour past our deadline to leave (I didn't want my mom driving at 10:30pm at night to get home in a new car, but she made if home safe in the end) and (2) I was going to need to repeat all the info to my mom again as she was exhausted. The dealership itself is not fancy: old stained fabric chairs breaking apart, free coffee from a vending machine (but a large cup or Nespresso flavors cost a few dimes extra) unlike other stores that have free coffee pods and snacks. Free wifi but it's not a nice place to wait for hours at a time.Overall I was happy with the price I was offered, fine with the higher price they actually required, but disappointed with the managers who wasted our time and refused to meet their "out the door" price. I expected some issues given the other yelp reviews but hoped that was limited to the service department. Ultimately I'd recommend you go to a different dealer if you can get a similar price. Toyota Marin was the dealership that offered a similar price and they have much better reviews and nicer amenities at the dealership, I wish I'd gone there instead.


Terrible customer service

1
ch on 06/24/2016

Customer Service: 1.0 Quality Of Work: 1.0 Friendliness: 1.0 Pricing: 1.0 Overall Experience: 1.0

Had an appointment to have my Camry serviced. Was ignored for 5 minutes by all three of their service representatives. Then the gray haired man said he could not find my appointment. No apology, just said I don't know what to tell you. I said an apology would be a start. He reluctantly said he was sorry. Then ask me for my keys. I said that I would not be treated like this, and left! WHAT TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE


No longer honors lifetime oil change purchased

1
Marko123 on 06/15/2016

Customer Service: 1.0 Quality Of Work: 1.0 Friendliness: 1.0 Overall Experience: 1.0

Paid for a lifetime oil change but found out it is no longer being honored. What does the term lifetime mean ?? If lifetime means only a few years why is that not stated in the documentation and the purchase time !!


totally ready to buy the car and left disappointed

1
bayvirgo on 01/19/2015

Customer Service: 1.0 Quality Of Work: 1.0 Friendliness: 1.0 Overall Experience: 1.0

after call to wake me up first thing in the morning to receive my first quote we had negotiated and I waited all day for a call back to firm up the numbers and confirm my car was on the lot in Vacaville.I was assured before leaving the City of Concord that we were agreed on the numbers for a new plug in prayer and that the color car I wanted would arrive from their sister lots soon after our arrival. After filling out the loan paperwork and sitting for nearly two hours, I was told that they couldn't meet the quoted price and they didn't have the car on the lot they would have to go buy from another dealer. When they said that they would try to work with me on the pricing, they also suggested that they wouldn't want to sell to an upset buyer, because the word of mouth would be terrible for them. needless to say I'll go back to another competitive dealership and place the order for the car that I wanted. word to all please be wary of Ivan, Dakota, and Anthony.


VERY SHADY, NO ETHICS HORRIBLE DEALERSHIP!!!!!

1
Desiree1706 on 07/31/2014

Customer Service: 1.0 Friendliness: 1.0 Pricing: 1.0 Overall Experience: 1.0

I SHOWED UP FOR MY APPT AND TEST DROVE THE CAR THAT I HAD REQUESTED IN A EMAIL WITH MELISSA I NEGOTIATED A PRICE OF $16,500 THEY ACCEPED AND WHEN I CAME IN TO SIGN THE PAPERWORK TO PURCHACE MY CAR, CHRIS CAME OUT AND TOLD ME THAT HE MADE A MISTAKE AND NEGOCIATED A PRICE ON A CAR THAT I DID NOT EVEN TEST DRIVE. AND HE SAID SORRY IT WAS HIS MISTAKE AND THAT HE NOR THE DEALERSHIP WOULD HONER THE PRICE FOR THE CAR I HAD JUST SAT THROUGH THREE EMPLOYEES TO HAVE AN ACCEPTANCE ON THE PRICE. SO I WAS EXTREAMLY UPSET AND I WILL TALK BAD ABOUT THIS DEALERSHIP TO EVERYONE I WAS VERY DISRESPECTED


Beware of shady ethics at Toyota Vacaville

2.8
jtsunny_24 on 05/13/2014

Customer Service: 3.0 Quality Of Work: 2.0 Friendliness: 3.0 Pricing: 4.0 Overall Experience: 2.0

At the end of April 2014, we leased a vehicle with Toyota Vacaville. We worked with them in 2011 with our previous vehicle and had a great experience. Sadly the woman that we worked with had moved on to another dealership. We live about 45 minutes from the dealership but decided to make the journey because they were so great to work with the previous time around. We turned in our vehicle, picked up a new car, signed the paperwork and went home. The following day we received a call from their financial department stating that they processed our paperwork wrong and my husband needed to return to resign the paperwork. It did result in reducing our monthly car payment by $20 a month which is great. We were told that my husband must sign in person so we told the dealership he would come up after work and they said his paperwork would be waiting for him. It wasnt. He had to wait over an hour and they actually suggested he go home and they would send a driver to our house so he could sign the paperwork. Where was that offer the first time around? Yes, they topped off his gas tank but that seems like small compensation when he should not have had to come up in the first place and they are the ones who made the mistake on the paperwork. Two weeks later we receive a bill for $459.55 from Toyota corporate for excess damages to our previous vehicle. Toyota Vacaville inspected our car (because they initially processed our car as a used car turn in and not as a lease return) and never mentioned that these scratches on the car would mean a bill was coming our way. So I called Toyota Vacaville and spoke with Dee to ask if the dealership could do anything, that we were not made aware of this possibility. He was familiar with our case and after I explained why I was calling he became caustic to me and I went out of my way to remain respectful. He proceeded to explain they the dealership had already done us a great service and I should be thankful and stop asking/expecting them to do anything else for me. When I said that I hoped the dealership made good practice of owning mistakes and doing best by their customers he said, actually no they didnt have to do that, they could have just gone with the original paperwork and not admitted their error. (How frightening is that?) He also seemed to think that I should just be grateful that I got a great deal on my car, they actually took a loss on the car, thankful that for processing my paperwork wrong, making my husband drive to Vacaville after he got off work and not having his paperwork ready they filled up his tank with gas. Thankful that yes, it reduced our car payment (but what price do you put on peace of mind knowing the dealerships arent screwing their customers over). In summary, it is unacceptable that Dee said the dealership did not have to make good on their paperwork mistake (which did affect the price of our vehicle), that I should just be grateful they did. I was nothing but respectful and courteous to Dee and he took such a haughty, caustic tone. Talking to him was like talking to the "good old boys clubs" of the 1960s. He seemed to hold it against me that we got a good deal (in his mind) on our vehicle. Last time I checked, the customer cannot force the dealership to make a deal and I certainly did not so don't hold it against me, if you don't like the way the numbers are crunching, don't do the deal.


We had a horrible experience with Toyota of Vacaville. We...

1.8
swallowtail on 07/14/2013

Customer Service: 1.0 Quality Of Work: 1.0 Friendliness: 3.0 Pricing: 3.0 Overall Experience: 1.0

We had a horrible experience with Toyota of Vacaville. We had accepted an offer and put down a $500 deposit on a Toyota Sienne SE. It was coming from another lot so we had to wait and pick it up the next day. As we were approaching the car lot after rearranging our schedule to make a 1 hour drive from El Dorado Hills, we received a call stating that the car was no longer available and that they sold it to someone else. In case you don't realize - this is a breach of contract. Not only is that unethical, it is also illegal. Yet, I don't have the time or money to spend on a lawyer to sue them for a car that was rightfully and contractually mine. My only recourse are these review websites. Be wary of these people. It's sickening what they did - and how seemingly easy it was for them to completely disregard a contract. It seemed as if it was common practice there and nothing new to them. Anyone willing to do that has no conscience and is not to be trusted.


Just completed the purchase of a used Prius from this...

4.8
tibblenibble on 09/22/2011

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 4.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Just completed the purchase of a used Prius from this dealership. I tried to buy the same model in my hometown, but received no service or assistance in locating the car I wanted, with the options I needed. Dean at Vacaville arranged for a driver to come to my home and drive me 4 hours to Vacaville to complete my transaction. They went out of their way to accomodate my situation, and I am very pleased. I located the car I wanted through the internet and Dean made everything easy for me. Car was as expected when I arrived and there were no surprises. I do recommend this dealership!Their driver, Ed, was a real gentleman and I felt completely comfortable taking my son with me from San Luis Obispo, to Vacaville, no short trek.BTW, I am thrilled with my new Prius, it's as perfect as a new car and fun to drive.


try to sale me tire when i just got new tires the service...

2.4
capt1204 on 06/10/2011

Customer Service: 3.0 Quality Of Work: 2.0 Friendliness: 3.0 Pricing: 2.0 Overall Experience: 2.0

try to sale me tire when i just got new tires the service writer said you have 50000 plus mile on the tire we need to replace them with new one this was 12 days after I got 4 new tire that had 14/32 which tell me they never checked the tire 32ths when they do a service on my Toyota


Bought a 2008 vehicle 2 weeks ago and was promised an...

2.5
flyfisher1969 on 04/19/2009

Customer Service: 1.0 Friendliness: 4.0 Pricing: 4.0 Overall Experience: 1.0

Bought a 2008 vehicle 2 weeks ago and was promised an Owner's manual (should have been in the care to begin with) and audio cables that were included with the car. Haven't seen any of them yet, and we paid CASH. Horrible customer service. They epitimize the "used car salesman". We are happy with the car, not the dealership.


$20,990

Mileage: 43421

Contact seller for Color

Transmission: Automatic CVT

Contact seller for Body Style

City: ,

Engine Type: 2.4L I4 184hp 180ft. lbs. 2.4L I

$28,990

Mileage: 29355

Color: WHITE

Transmission: 8-Speed Automatic

Contact seller for Body Style

City: Vacaville, CA

Engine Type: 3.5L V6 24V PDI DOHC

Go to all dealer listings


® 2020 CARSDESK. All Rights Reserved.