Honda of Ames

4.8
Overall Rating

Customer Service: 4.9 Buying Process: 4.8 Quality Of Repair: 5.0 Overall Facilities: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 4.9 Friendliness: 4.9 Pricing: 4.6 Overall Experience: 4.8


By clicking the button, you agree to our submitted.

Huge help in an emergency!

5
Susie Lye on 11/24/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

We were traveling from Oklahoma to Minnesota when our car began having difficulties. Even though they had 40 cars scheduled for service that day, they brought us right in, did the diagnostics, and fixed the problem right away. They were also very kind and had a very nice place to wait! We are so grateful! Special thanks to Josh who took care of us!


Time for a new Honda!

5
breichert on 11/11/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

This was my second time considering whether to lease or buy a car from Honda of Ames and based upon the great service I have been given every time I have been there I decided to lease another new CRV. Everyone at Honda has been very helpful in explaining options and listening to what I am looking for to match me with the perfect product for myself. I look forward to enjoying the next three years of my lease and exploring my options with Honda once it concludes!


Good consultant when buying a used or new car

5
Tom on 11/11/2016

Overall Experience: 5.0

I enjoyed working with Brian because his demeanor was not the faux friend glad handing manipulative salesman that I've found elsewhere. He was attentive to our desires and worked with us to inform and advise. Even as we purchased a vehicle elsewhere he responded well and set himself up for the next time we are looking to buy a car.


Honda CRV

5
D&L on 10/27/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Peter understood what we were looking for & helped us get a good deal. Scott was also very helpful explaining the financing side of things. We had a positive experience.


We bought an Accord Hybrid.

5
Eleanor Mathews on 10/23/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

We have had Honda products for more than 10 years and have been very satisfied with them. Rich did an excellent job explaining all the features.


Treated Like a Real Customer

5
D&J on 10/19/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

While car shopping and buying isn't something we particularly enjoy, our experience with Pete & Scott was a good one. They never seemed pushy, always listened to our thoughts and needs and made the entire experience as pleasant and "painless" as possible. Thanks for a job wall done.


Quality, personal experience

5
jkc75 on 09/28/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

I received excellent service through Honda of Ames. There are competing Hondas in the area and I decided to buy through Honda of Ames because they kept me up to date on each part of the selling process. I felt that I knew what was going on with purchasing my car and what info was expected of me.


Very Helpful

5
vos,dj on 09/28/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

It was great working with Wayde Klingbeil. Very knowledgeable and outgoing personality. He was very helpful in locating a vehicle that we where looking for.


Fantastic buying experience!

5
Robert Adams on 09/15/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

I purchased my car online which carries a number of complication. My salesman (Greg Wells) was able to work past them and even picked me up from the airport. There were no tricks or gimmick. They had the paperwork ready to go and offered a warranty package I couldn't pass up. I was in and out in about 45 minutes. All in all a hassle free buying experience. Very happy customer here.


Above and Beyond

5
retired on 09/15/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

You guys are great!! Knew my battery was going out and had an appt but didn't make it. You guys stayed late to replace it when I got stranded, coming to my aid. Great guys!!


Great Experience!

5
Ankeny buyers on 09/06/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Our salesman was very helpful and knowledgeable about the Honda Civic we wanted. Got a good price on it. The finance manager explained options but wasn't heavy handed on extras, warranties. It was a fun buying experience. Thank you!


Good overall

5
Hondabuyer on 08/31/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

I had a pleasant experience at this dealership. Very little haggling and nice employees. Very clean facility compared to the Honda dealership in Cedar Rapids we were at prior.


Five star service

5
PBO001 on 08/29/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

The entire staff at Honda of Ames is professional and always looking to provide good, quick service. I recommend Honda of Ames to everyone. Thank you for the great service over many, many years.


Listened to our needs

3.6
jnott on 08/29/2016

Customer Service: 3.0 Quality Of Work: 4.0 Friendliness: 3.0 Pricing: 4.0 Overall Experience: 4.0

Brian took his time to allow us to look at different vehicle options, and listened to our needs. I felt he really worked with us on getting what we needed.


Great service

5
Kisting.cindyw7p on 08/25/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Took their time to make sure I understood everything and was comfortable with everything from driving to all the finance and extras that I had


very customer oriented!

5
sandy on 08/22/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

I set an appointment for servicing my Honda to correspond with the appointment I had across the street at a cosmetology school, but at the last minute when I arrived to drop off my Honda for servicing, I got a call from the school letting me know that they needed to reschedule my appointment. The person at the service desk said they would be happy to reschedule also, which was wonderful.


Excellent and thorough experience

5
equestrian10 on 08/17/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

I loved getting my car from here. They worked with us and tried to be as flexible as they could be on pricing. They showed all the features of the car and were extremely welcoming and friendly. I do not regret my purchase at all and even after all was said and done I noticed a scratch just before I left with my mom, they were more than willing to fix it.


4th Honda

5
New HRV owner on 08/16/2016

Overall Experience: 5.0

This is our 4th Honda, 3 CRV's and now a HRV. It has been fun learning how to drive a car without a key!!! I love the mulberry color.


wonderful!

4.8
qeneva1963 on 08/04/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 4.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Very helpful. Friendly, went the extra mile for me.I will be a return customer and will tell my friends and family about my positive experience.


Great service experience

5
Stephen Opheim on 07/31/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

When I called I was able to get in at a convenient time for me within a day. Service was timely and staff were easy to deal with.


Great Experience

4.8
KC1101 on 07/22/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 4.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

My recent vehicle purchase at Honda of Ames was a positive experience and I would highly recommend this dealership to others. Richard Anderson made the process easy, efficient and professional. Our family only owns Honda vehicles and we will continue to have our cars serviced at Honda of Ames.


Pleasant experience

4.8
Bwags48 on 07/06/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 4.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Professional and pleasant transaction. Staff friendly and knowledgeable. Would happily return. Brian Fox and the guys in finance worked well together to get us the best possible deal. Thanks for making this a great experience.


Couldn't be better

5
Creating an account is unnecessary on 06/20/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

The title says it all. The service experience couldn't have been better. I'll definitely return with my Accord and CRV, and recommend it to others.


Honda of Ames is Fabulous

5
Judy DeAngelo on 06/11/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Our 2011 Honda Fit (wonderful car) is on the airbag recall list. Not because 2011 Fits have specifically had any issues, but just as a precaution. Honda of Ames is giving us a loaner until the parts are available. We call that service above and beyond. We will use Honda of Ames for our servicing and purchasing from now on.


Problem with air conditioner. Previously had all new tires.

4.8
Retired lady on 06/03/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 4.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

They were very helpful. Gave me an up front idea on cost of tires and ac check. Cost is important as I am on a fixed income. The work was done quickly and well. I will continue to have my Honda repair done there. Everyone I had contact with was friendly, courteous and helpful.


Repeat Customer (many times)

5
Pam on 06/02/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

We have purchased several Honda vehicles over the past many years. We have looked at other brands, but we always return to Honda of Ames for the quality of car, excellent knowledge and abilities from Tom Wishman, and outstanding service from Mel and staff in the service department. This time was no different; it was/is a very satisfying process all around.


Watch & Check-Dealership does not do what they say they will

1.4
TrishaCPA on 05/22/2016

Customer Service: 2.0 Quality Of Work: 1.0 Friendliness: 2.0 Pricing: 1.0 Overall Experience: 1.0

R Daugherty agreed to replace wipers, both filters, vehicle inspection and correct front wheel vibration. He said it was done. I found it wasn't. I took the car to Wilson. They agreed with me. They found dirty cabin filter, front coil spring broken and water pump leaking. Of course, I could not drive the car. Daugherty tacked on another $6,400.00 which I had not agree to. I notified the Iowa Attorney General to get the refund of $6,400.00 which took another 94 days. Daugherty is definitely a "used car" snake salesman who is concerned only about HIS pocket and not the buyer's safety. He thought he could TAKE this lady but this lady fought back. I played dumb to see if he would lie and he did over and over again. I would advise to stay away from this dealership in Ames. There are so many other great dealerships. Just go to Wilson and work out a fair deal. Great dealership from Sales, to parts, to service. Very caring.


Great experience

5
Schulte on 05/19/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Great experience and great people who took good care of us in our buying process. Had great experience with the salesman Richard Anderson and as always the service technicians were great!!!


Great Customer Service & Wonderful Product

4.8
johnfamily on 05/19/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 4.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

We are a family of 6 who recently purchased a used 2013 Honda Oddyssey van. Brian Fox was our car salesmen. He went above and beyond by staying late to close the sale (a babysitter was at home with our kids, so it was an ideal time for us to finish things up, and not have to come back in!). He also stopped by our house on his way into work the next morning so that we wouldn't have to run back to Ames from Ankeny an additional time. He was kind, not pushy, and knew his stuff. We were thrilled to find a used van in such wonderful condition at Honda of Ames. We will gladly be recommending both the dealership and Brian Fox to friends who are looking to purchase a vehicle.


Standard service

5
Greg on 05/19/2016

Quality Of Work: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Always very friendly quick and accommodating I bring all 3 of my Hondas here I drive from indianola to purchase and service my vehicles thanks


Lee's the man.

5
DMMZ3719 on 05/12/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

We have purchased two new cars from Honda of Ames. This dealership is top notch in our opinion. Friends who bought cars here had recommended it. We too will recommend it to other friends. We were able to get a good trade in deal through Lee Muller on our new CRV. This car suits our needs to a tee. Lee answered all of our questions to our satisfaction and pointed out features we hadn't thought to ask about. He really knows all about the cars he's selling. Nice personality too, which reduced the anxiety of trading cars. We think of him as our 'go to guy' at Honda of Ames. If only more dealerships had personal like Lee on staff. The whole dealership seems well managed and the sales reps are trained to give the customer the proper amount of attention. Not a bunch of hungry high pressure types. Our experience with the service dept has been stellar too. .


service

5
bob2014crv on 05/12/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

service personnel were very polite and professional .the work was done in a timely manner and to my satisfaction.i would highly recommend Honda of Ames .


Great Service

5
JeanneH on 05/11/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Even though I didn't buy my Honda from this dealership I am treated with the same respect and service as if I had. If you make an appointment your work is done promptly (I am referring to typical servicing as I have not had to have any major repairs). The entire staff from the office to the mechanics (I'm sure they aren't called 'mechanics' now--perhaps 'computer assisted technicians') are always friendly. I highly recommend Honda of Ames.


Honda CRV EX

5
Ann on 05/09/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

We actually came in to pick up a fuse we had ordered for our '86 Honda wagon . I had talked to Aaron Warren when we brought our 2014 in for service earlier in the year and we discussed the new Fit. My daughter in Illinois leased a new CRV at the end of last year and I really liked it, so this time I decided to look at the CRV . I fell in love and I'm STILL in love!! My husband and I talked and left and came back and we now drive the most beautiful car on the road. Of course, I happen to be prejudiced! Our experience was great. Rich Anderson was kind enough to help us while Aaron was busy and then Aaron took over. He went way above and beyond any expectations we might have had. Everyone we encountered made our day a very, very nice one. Scott Shaben was so helpful in getting us on our way. This is my 6th Honda and we still have 2 of the others. If I'm still living in Iowa and decide to buy another one, this is certainly where I'll be coming. Great Experience!!!


First purchase of a Honda

5
willnot on 05/09/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

They were very Friendly and the experience worked will in finding the car that we wanted. We look forward to doing our service work their as we have not owned a Honda before.


WONDERFUL! Very friendly

5
Katelyn on 05/04/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Very helpful and patient with me picking out a car. Explained everything step by step so I could easily understand. Will go back with any car repairs, oil changes, or future purchases!


Honda hr-v

4
Ruth on 05/03/2016

Customer Service: 4.0 Overall Experience: 4.0

Our purcasing experience with our salesman craig host was excellent. He should be cloned....Craig made this transaction pleasant and relaxing!! Thank you very much Craig...you rock!!


Buying a used car

4.8
chemoguy on 04/27/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 4.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Our salesman was fantastic! He was open, honest and listened to our needs. We shopped the week before and returned to buy based on the level of customer service. It was a great experience!


Excellent!!

5
Softballrocs on 04/25/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

We were driving home on Interstate 35 when we started to have car problems. We were still an hour and a half from home, but needed to leave our car in Ames. We left our car at the Honda dealership and put our key in the drop box. I called first thing Monday morning. I explained the problem we were having to Max and he was wonderful in explaining that Hondas were known to have this problem. He explained that if it were spark plugs or a piston ring problem, Honda warranty would cover the repair. We also needed an oil change (covered with the piston ring, not covered with the spark plugs) and some preventative maintenance. He explained all the charges. Thank you for your friendliness and your ability to explain everything!! You are AMAZING!!!! Thank you so much!!!!


Great friendly dealership

5
Sween741 on 04/23/2016

Overall Experience: 5.0

Great friendly people. Good salesmen but not too pushy. Seemed to care more than just making a $. Even delivered van to me. Was not expected but greatly appreciated. Awesome. Thanks


knoledge of product

5
butterball on 04/19/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

craig our sales rep. knew all about the car we were looking at and told us all about it .we were early but they were ready for us


5 stars

4.8
Dfisc612 on 04/15/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 4.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

My only complaint was that Aaron said he would come down on the price to 1750 and he never did go that low. Otherwise he was a great salesman.


Oil change and tire rotation

5
Ivadeen Proffitt on 04/15/2016

Overall Experience: 5.0

I was a bit early for my appointment but got right in and got serviced quickly and efficiently. Very friendly personnel. I couldn't use your Wi-Fi but that didn't really matter


My Guys

5
Steven R Alt on 04/09/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

For all the years I have been coming to Ames Honda I will say say that those who work there and who I have dealt will make it the reason I keep coming. If folks like Mel, Tom, Mike, Stacy, Kyle, and Rich and sorry for those I didn't add would leave, I think I might start looking else where. The car is one thing but without these people the car is just a car.


Great Service

5
dbl d on 04/09/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

This dealership, particularly Rich Anderson and Mel Gawley, truly care about their customers. I will continue to visit sales and service in the future. Job well done.


Great

5
Kunle on 03/26/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

i had a nice experience working with Aaron and Adolf, as ell as Scot. they are really wonderful guys. Aaron's marketing skills is well appreciated


A+ Service and Sales

5
TimB4 on 03/17/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

My 3rd car from Ames Honda. The sales team is friendly and makes buying a new vehicle easy. The service team is efficient and courteous. Maintenance visits are quick and painless. I can't imagine doing business anywhere else.


Lindy is our dude

5
EG1118 on 03/12/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

First off I'll start by saying that we liked these guys (Lindy and Doug) so much that we have now bought 2 cars from them. Lindy is our dude, he makes our car buying experience fun and stress-free. My wife and I would highly recommend these guys for a great car-buying experience, Thanks Lindy and Doug for helping us get our new 2016 Honda Accord, we are very happy with this car. They only allow for 5 star ratings on here, but I give these guys a 10!!!


Great job... thanks for all the help.

5
DT on 03/04/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

It was really nice having someone actually take time to meet my needs. I will be back when I need my next car. Great Job Arron.


Great Service

5
psailor on 02/26/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

All the service representatives I have dealt with over the years have been excellent. The service is timely, and well done. The shuttle is a very nice additional benefit.


Overall good experience

4.8
Taffs on 02/22/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 4.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Brian Fox was our salesman and he was not too pushy and worked to get us taken care of. Him and Lyndy stayed late to help us complete our purchase. Overall good experience


Awesome experience

5
janadohman on 02/14/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Wayde is an honest, trustworthy and knowledgeable salesman. We bought a car we are extremely happy with and we left feeling good about our experience!


Great Service

5
vinsonpr36 on 02/07/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

I purchased a 2016 Honda CRV last summer. I had the oil changed recently and I had the car washed and vacuumed. They did a fine job.


It was great experience

4.4
Ktxsun on 02/01/2016

Customer Service: 4.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 3.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

It was great experience to buy my first car in your shop in Ames. Especially, Nicole, who is a dealer, was great. She was very kind and helped me a lot. She waited for a long time until I get the Iowa driver's license. I appreciate it.


Good service department

5
Papa Dave on 01/31/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

I have purchased four cars from this dealer, and I have always received first-class treatment as a buyer. But even more importantly, the service department has and continues to be first-rate. I recently took in the van I bought for my disabled sister, and the service manager Mel took personal care to see that everything was taken care of properly. We needed a strut replaced, and it was covered on the used-car warranty we got with the van. There was NO charge for part or labor, just as it should be. Plus, Mel and the other service personnel, including the shuttle driver, are always very friendly as well very competent.


New 2016 Civic

5
hansonscott1 on 01/31/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

My wife and I recently leased a new Honda Civic. Brian Fox helped us greatly in figuring out the best option for us. We love the new Civic!


First Class

5
Tacohakes on 01/22/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Mel and his team are great! First class professionals and I just them. I had a not so pleasant experience at the Honda dealership in Des Moines. Decided to drive to Ames and was rewarded with customer service and my car was fixed. I won't go into a long story about Smart Honda in Des Moines, lets just say I will drive to Ames any time I need service on my Honda. Worth the gas and time. Thanks Mel! Kelly Hakes Des Moines


First time buyers

5
bspurd on 01/22/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

This was our first ever car purchase. Tom was great to work with and made it a very easy process. We would highly recommend Tom and Honda of Ames to anyone looking for a car. We were very pleased with our whole experience. :-)


Purchase of Certified Pre-Owned 2013 Honda Accord EX-L

4.8
Sam999 on 01/16/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 4.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Overall, it was a great experience; Craig is a super nice guy and it was awesome doing business with him. Josh got the best financing that was affordable for me. Absolutely would recommend prospective buyers to purchase cars (new/used) from this dealership.


Purchase of 2016 Accord/end of 2013Accord lease

4.8
JDO1948 on 01/08/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 4.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

I am totally satisfied with Honda of Ames. I turned in a 2013 lease and purchased a 2016 Accord during Happy Honda Days. Aaron Warren (salesman) was great to work with. He made sure I got the car that best fit my needs. Josh Beving (finance manager) worked diligently to get the best financing for me at a rate I could live with. There was a little misunderstanding with my lease end after the purchase, but Josh resolved it quickly and to my satisfaction. This is my third Accord from Honda of Ames, and I have always used their service department. Everyone is very friendly, knowledgeable, and courteous. I highly recommend them.


Excellent customer service, dedicated staff, no pressure.

5
Eli222 on 01/02/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Craig Host (salesman) was great. He was very knowledgable and friendly. We never felt pressured while trying different vehicles. As a result we found a great car. Tom Wishman (financing) provided helpful information. We felt that the people at Honda of Ames were straight forward and honest. We will definitely recommend them.


Another good experience

4.4
cheryl719 on 12/23/2015

Customer Service: 4.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 4.0 Overall Experience: 4.0

Traded my previous Honda for one with fewer miles.. I hope to have this vehicle for many years (and miles) to come. This is my third vehicle purchased from Honda of Ames.


Lease of 2016 Odyssey

5
BeetleB55 on 12/23/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Brian and all the staff went above beyond what we expected during the lease experience for our new 2016 Odyssey. We could not be happier with our experience!


Great Customer Service

5
Cassie381 on 12/21/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

I worked with Lee (salesman) and Scott (financing) to purchase my 2016 Civic Ex about two weeks ago. Both were great to work with and very helpful. Since my purchase, Lee has provided excellent customer service, following up with me several times to see if I have any questions or concerns. I absolutely love my new car and would definitely purchase another vehicle at Honda of Ames!


Had so much fun!

5
Rachel Beach on 11/29/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

I do not tend to like the process of getting a new car. Richard, Jim, and another guy (ask Richard, he will know) make it so much fun and painless. Together they were able to get me a lower payment than my original lease with more features on my Civic. We had a lot of laughs and they are so helpful and understanding of what it means to work within a budget. No pressure to get something more expensive-in fact the exact opposite! I have never had a better experience and as long as they work there they will have me and my daughter as customers as well as anyone else we can talk into going. You guys are helpful, understanding, tolerant ;-), and so much fun! I really cannot say enough good things about my car leasing experience with you! Thank you also Richard for the followup call to see if I am able to figure out the new-fangled contraptions on my car.


Experience at Ames Honda

5
honda crv on 11/24/2015

Friendliness: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Adolfo Ninaquispe & Scott Schaber were courtesy & professional; they show respect for the customer. I appreciate their honesty & genuine compassion for others during time of important decision making!!!


Kudos to Ames Honda

5
Bwingert on 11/15/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

We have never purchased a vehicle other than in my local area where I knew the dealer and/or salesperson & honestly had some reservations to begin with but we were unable to find the vehicle we wanted locally so we took a chance on a long distance purchase. I have to say everything we were told by our sales person who contacted us following our initial inquiry regarding a vehicle which was already sold, was accurate & truthful. Aaron notified us that there was another vehicle on order by his dealership that was the exact model & color we wanted. We were very pleased with Aaron Warren's service & expertise who went out of his way along with Scott Mattis in the finance dept, after normal business hours to make sure we were able to successfully complete the purchase upon making the 1.5 hour trip to Ames late one evening.


Excellent Service!

5
ktsoph on 11/12/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

The man who sold me my car was wonderfully kind and patient. I appreciate him working with me in getting the best deal for my new car and also for working with me on my monthly payment. My experience with the Holmes Honda in Des Moines was outrageously disastrous and I vowed never to go there again which is what brought me to the Ames Dealer instead. I couldn't have had a better experience. He made me feel very comfortable and I didn't feel talked down to or taken advantage of at any point during the process.


Good service unit, so-so sales department

4.6
Yaroslav on 11/09/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 4.0 Overall Experience: 4.0

After living in Ames over a decade and having to fix/service my cars numerous times, I have to say that the service guys in Honda of Ames have my trust now. They are professionals and know what they are doing.The sales department is a different story. I bought three Honda cars during the last ten years, none of them at Honda of Ames. There prices are inflated, the offers on trade-in cars are laughable, and they are not in a mood for serious negotiations. So I had to buy my cars (used and new) in other Iowa dealerships, and I expect to do the same in the future.


Quality Technician

4.8
Honda on 11/09/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 4.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

The completed repairs were exactly what the mechanic located during their inspection; broken and worn rear shock system. The ride quality has not been this good for 5 plus years.


Honda of Ames Service

4.8
Doug on 10/30/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 4.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

I can always count on the work being done well and in a timely manner. They communicate with me and ask permission before completing additional work. A dependable Honda and a quality service department keep me on the road without any major issues.


Service Department in Ames

4.8
Cynthia LM on 10/28/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 4.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Our past experience with the Honda service department and Mel is why we returned to purchase a Honda vehicle after several years without. We have always received excellent service in Ames.


The best in town.

5
lga442 on 10/12/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

I have had some recent bad luck lately, and have had to spend a lot of time at local car dealerships in the past couple of weeks. Honda of Ames absolutely blew every other car dealership out of the water. They will do everything imaginable to get you the vehicle you want at the price you desire. I am absolutely thrilled that I went to this dealership and we were able to make it all happen. If you are ever in a bind or just looking to update what you're driving, I would highly, highly reccommend Honda of Ames. Their team is ready to pretty much hand everything over to you on a silver platter just to see you walk away with a smile on your face. I will definitely be returning and referring for future business.


Despicable customer service

1
J Waters on 10/12/2015

Customer Service: 1.0 Friendliness: 1.0 Pricing: 1.0 Overall Experience: 1.0

We bought a 2015 Odyssey from this dealership and took it in for its first oil change. They said it was leaking oil around the head gasket. Head was warped and needed to be planed. Major engine repair. Obviously happened in the factory, but the dealership was not interested in helping us. We wanted to trade for a new van and they just wanted to make things worse by first, not wanting anything to do with us and then offering us $3,000 less than trade in value on our van - For something that Honda should have stood behind in the first place? The most horrible lack of caring or customer service that we have ever experienced. Honda Corporation wouldn't stand behind their product any more than the dealership. As long as it is under warranty, they will fix it. But with a major engine repair like that, it is likely we will have more problems so we have to worry every time we drive it. Don't ever buy anything from Honda, OR this dealership!!


Outstanding service

5
Jane on 10/06/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Lee Muller did an excellent job of presenting information and answering questions and his follow-up phone calls have been helpful in answering additional questions.


Great Experience

5
Kris on 10/04/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

I had a great experience using Honda of Ames - very accommodating- even let me take the vehicle to Altoona so my husband could check it out before we purchases.


Amazing service!

5
Julie on 10/03/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Wayde was great to work with! No pressure sales with great service and product knowledge! Financing was easy and everyone was so nice! Great place to buy a car!!!


Great experience

4.4
Hanlin on 10/02/2015

Customer Service: 4.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 4.0 Overall Experience: 4.0

Their staffs are very friendly and helpful, they would answer all of the question you have and make a best price for you to purchase the car you want.


Great experience

4.8
Jaime on 09/15/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 4.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Overall it was a great experience. Everyone was super friendly and helpful, not pushy at all. The entire process was very smooth and straightforward. I would definitely recommend Honda of Ames, and Brian Fox, to others. Thanks :)


Excellent experience - Lee Muller sale person was so helpful

5
LynnAnn on 09/14/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

This dealership was very friendly - very helpful all of them - felt very special in their dealings with us. A overall great experience ! The dealership is very clean and nice.


Great. They were willing look for our specifications.

5
happy fit88 on 08/27/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

They did a great job. kept looking for our car specifics.The show room was very nice and they were very helpful in letting our sons take test drives and be involved in the car buying experience. Thank You.


Great Experience!!!

5
ErickaA on 08/22/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Just bought a Honda CRV today and had a great experience. From the moment I walked in the door and met the salesman Peter all the way to working with the Finance guy Josh. They answered all my questions and worked with me and my budget. I would highly recommend buying you next car at Honda of Ames!!!!


100% satisfied

5
kmortensen on 08/08/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

We had a wonderful experience! Aaron answered all of our questions and helped us get the exact vehicle we wanted, for the price we were hoping for! We will definitely be back, and highly recommend working with Aaron!


Very helpful and informative

5
bberv4039 on 07/07/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Lee was very helpful. He took the time to explained everything about the CRV, both before I took it for a test drive, and after I decided that I was ready to purchase.. Compared to other dealer I visited, Ames of Honda was the best, and I was very satisfied with my experience. I would buy another car from Honda of Ames, if I ever need another car.


Easy Comfortable Experience. Bill treated us like a friend!

5
cmackey on 06/26/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

In need of a new car after totaling my car that morning, didn't have much time to look around for the best deal. Went to all the other dealerships in Ames IA and even looked online at the surrounding area dealerships for available used cars. The last dealership we visited was Honda of Ames, upon taking a quick run through the dealership had a great deal of cars to offer at reasonable prices. The particular car that caught my attention was a Black Honda Accord 2012. Within a few minutes of looking at the particular car we had a dealer greet us. He asked the normal question, if we were looking for anything in specific, of if there was anything he could help us with. We wanted more information on the specific Accord because it had no information tags due to being put on the lot that morning. The Dealer, Bill treated us like a normal person, not someone he was looking to sell the first car he could to us. Didn't try to push the sale at all, didn't try to talk the car up to the best it could be, just simply let us know the basic details of the car (miles, trim, previous owner). He let us ask the questions we wanted to know and gave simple real answers. After test driving the car and getting back to the dealership, Bill still didn't ask if I was interested in purchasing the vehicle, he let me ask him. To me this is how I prefer to buy an expensive investment, I want to make the decision without someone pushing it on me like he just want to sell another car. Bill worked with us on all requests. The dealership had one of the best prices for this 2012 Honda Accord, beating almost every online result I could find, even on the exact same car with twice the miles on it from another dealership, half way across the country. While talking over the price, Bill also went over some of the other cars in the lot that had about the same specs and requirements I was looking for, to make sure I was making the best choice I could for myself.All said and done, I could not have asked for a better salesperson than Bill, no push salesman looking to help you find the car that is right for you, not just the first car he can get you to buy like most salesman are. Really appreciated the time he spent with us and his honesty and treating us like a person or friend, rather than a buyer.


Quick andcEfficient

4.8
GrandmaRachel on 06/15/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 4.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

First oil change at Honda of Ames and very pleased. We have had service work done before and was also happy with the outcome. We live in Ankeny and was excited to know they honor our local ad prices. Will defiantly come again.


leased car

5
Jim on 06/13/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

I began looking at used cars and ended up leasing a new Civic. Billie did a great job of explaining the pros and cons of each.


Good Job

5
duck58 on 06/11/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

The service was excellent. The cost was what I was quoted and the time to complete thw work was right on the estimated time. Everything was great.


Friendly and informative

4.8
HappyCustomer4321 on 06/08/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 4.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Our salesman, Billie, was everything you want in a car salesman. He was nice, patient, and addressed all of our concerns. We couldn't get him to budge on the sticker price but were happy with the number going into it. I'm so happy with the deal and the car. I will go here to buy our next car and would recommend them to all our family and friends.


Used car service

5
hondabuyer on 06/07/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Looking for a specific car seen on-line. Employee we worked with accommodated our schedules and worked to get information that we were interested in. Worked with us in finalizing the sales arrangements and provided useful information.


great experience buying honda

4.2
abhineet on 06/06/2015

Customer Service: 4.0 Quality Of Work: 4.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 4.0 Overall Experience: 4.0

i would highly recommend honda of ames... it was a great experience buying used honda. great service and friendly staff... it made it easy to make decision...


Oil Change and Tire Rotation

5
hondadriver on 06/06/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

I took my 2015 Civic in for an oil change and tire rotation. I was under some time constraints. They had it completed along with the inspection in 45 minutes.


Great service. Got there at 8 and was out by 9.

5
Honda on 06/05/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Was impressed with time in and out. Went in with appointment to change oil. Husband said to tell them to rotate tires but they suggested it before I could mention. Accommodations were comfortable during the wait with coffee and other refreshments available, as well as wifi and a tv if you wanted to watch.


oil change and vehicle inspection done promptly.

5
Accord owner on 06/04/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

great service and informed vehicle condition report after service was completed. Having a well maintained Honda by a Honda Tech is important to me and my family.


From purchasing to repairs

4.8
Kathy G on 06/01/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 4.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

If you want to be treated like a friend rather than just a customer, Honda of Ames is the dealership for you. I would highly recommend this dealership to everyone. You won't regret it.


Great Sales

4.8
nick_johnson_ on 05/31/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 4.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

We worked with Adolfo to purchase a used Honda Odyssey and had a great experience. He answered all the questions we had and was always friendly and helpful. Overall, a great experience!


Fantastic Experience!

5
kja on 05/27/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

I recently purchased a new car from salesman Brian Fox. I wanted to say that I have never had sucha completely informative and seamless experience. Never did I feel pressured or made to feel "stupid"that I did not know how to do certain things. He was very patient and took his time "teaching" me how to operate my new car!Thank-you for Everything Brian!!!


Great Experience!

5
Bravehawk on 05/24/2015

Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Bill and Doug were very helpful, I had a great experience dealing with the dealership. I had a few questions and concerns throughout the deal and Bill was able to answer my questions or get an answer for everything in a timely manner. Very Professional, but not stuffy and at no time did I feel pressured to buy.


Always satisfactory work

4.6
doc on 05/23/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 3.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Always satisfied with the service.........The service work is always done on timeThe service manger is helpfulfollow my requestspleasant waiting areagood shuttle service


oil change

5
gassy guy on 05/23/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

good, fast service. Was done on time when promised. visited with rich Anderson, it was enjoyable and helped to make the time move a little faster


Maintenance and Service

5
IowaGirl on 05/20/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Mel and his team operate a first-class operation. I'm very appreciative of their service recommendations. I never have questions when I drive away.


Oil change/tire rotation

5
Screen name on 05/06/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Mel Gawley always provides excellent service and is so personable. The department keeps excellent records for tire rotation, etc. I was out in less than an hour.


Very nice

5
duane 1960 on 05/05/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Very nice sales people and car very nice bathrooms and I liked having free pop and coffee. i think the location will be nice also.


Long time fan.

4.8
honda fan on 05/05/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Overall Experience: 4.0

I've worked with this dealership for over 10 years. My reasons for staying with them are numerous, most particularly continuity. They know me and they know my car. They are fair, and honest. I appreciate that.


Great service and great people

5
honda gal on 05/01/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

You get professional service from a caring staff. Work is done on time and there is a comfortable waiting area. Online appointment is easy and accurate.


Friendly, Great Service

5
NewOdysseyOwners on 04/23/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

We recently purchased a new vehicle. The experience went very well. We appreciated the low pressure, comfortable environment. We also felt that our sales consultant was on our side. We had all of our questions answered and were pleased with the time that he spent discussing various payment options with us.


Efficient

5
kbran on 04/22/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Quick service while I waited, clear explanation of what was done, cost, etc. Expected wait time was less than originally quoted, so that was nice!


regular vehicle maintenance

4.8
longtime customer on 04/20/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 4.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

We appreciate the communication and interaction we receive about the work being done or recommended for the future. The shuttle is always appreciated when needed.


my experience.

5
HRN2015 on 04/20/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

so far my experience with this dealership is very goodnow I want a new HRV so I hope they will be just as GOOD


great and helpful service

5
cdub on 04/14/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Honda of Ames has been great to me in the 13.5 years I have owned my car. Max takes the time to thoroughly explain and answer questions, never pushing me into doing anything. He is friendly and seeks to help you, the customer, to your satisfaction.


Second purchase this year!

5
~linda~ on 04/09/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

My experience was wonderful, customer service was smooth and efficient. I had purchased another vehicle in January and had excellent service, both with the sale and with scheduled service and minor repair,. so I had spoken with the salesman about the need for a vehicle for my daughter sometime soon. Patrick Daugherty went above and beyond expectations, contacted me when he found a vehicle that he thought would work for us and arranged to get the van I purchased to my house as I didn't have another driver to help me out. If I need another car, this will be my first call. If anyone asks, I heartily recommend this dealer.


Great place to buy a car

5
Bmarsh on 03/13/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Shopped at several dealerships before going to Honda of Ames. They should have been first, but hindsight is 20/20. Billie went above and beyond with my 70 year old mother and spent hours showing her all the features of the car and made sure she didn't have any questions or concerns before turning her loose.


Quickly located the perfect car for me!

5
Aysha on 03/01/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

I value effiency, and I was very pleased when our dealer, Mr. Fox, rather than showing me a bunch of cars I didn't want, quickly figured out what I was looking for, and showed me that. He asked me what I wanted, and really listened to my specifications. He didn't try to push me out of the price range I told him, which I also appriciated. Mr. Fox was helpful, competent and straightforward. Furthermore, he was friendly and upbeat in all of our communication, but I never felt that he was disingenuous. I found the perfect car for me, with his help.


Bill Vyhlidal is Consistently Amazing!

5
egkehrli on 02/28/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Billie Vyhlidal is by far the best car salesman my husband and I have worked with. He's incredibly nice, HONEST, and understands our needs. He is so knowledgeable and goes out of his way every time to make sure we're satisfied. He is our go-to guy and we are fortunate to have found him! No doubt we will keep coming back!!


Mel makes the whole place worth going!

4.8
happycustomer on 01/26/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 4.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Dealership repairs are expensive, but every time we have had a repair done our experience has made the cost worth the trip. Mel delivers outstanding customer service without fail, time and time again. We appreciate the honesty and integrity of the service center. We always feel like part of the Honda club whether rich or poor. Love it here!


Best car-buying experience ever

5
~linda~ on 01/13/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Absolutely fantastic experience, the salesman was friendly and outgoing, he offered choices, answered our questions well and found us a wonderful vehicle. Though we were not ready to buy at our initial visit, he was incredibly helpful, followed up with us a few days later and was there to make the sale when we made our decision. The sale was smooth and when we were ready to go, the car was spotless. I've been driving my new (to me) Toyota for a little more than a week and have been very pleased. I would definitely recommend stopping at Honda of Ames to shop for a car.


Loved working with Rob!

5
KW on 01/07/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

I recently bought a new 2014 CR-V from Rob at Honda of Ames. I highly recommend anyone looking for a new car to work with Rob. I anticipated lots of stress and anxiety, but it was really fun chatting with Rob and hearing about the different packages and deals without feeling overwhelmed. I never felt pressured or pushed in any direction; I thought that Rob listened well to what I wanted and made it happen. I absolutely LOVE my new CR-V!! Thanks, Rob! (and Honda of Ames!)


My second experience

5
oukvekpwv on 11/27/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Just had my second time working with Ames Honda. Polite, friendly, helpful, and I left happy. Aldolfo was great and my new Honda fit is awesome!


new car!!

5
kchyk4 on 11/17/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

The guys at Honda of Ames were great. They helped my husband and I get the car we needed and wanted, within our price range. Joel was really great since we were there for almost 9 hours. But it didn't feel like that long since he kept the conversations going. Thanks so much guys!


This was my second CRV and the second one from Honda of Ames

5
mhartung on 11/06/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

I did my homework - knew what I wanted and what I did not want. Appreciate Rich listening and working to find the car I wanted to buy. No pressure but good information to make sure I was well informed on other services or options. It was an easy process and not stressful which I appreciate. Thanks Rich I am enjoying the new car and look forward to fixing spaghetti this weekend with the famous Omaha Mr C's sauce!


Good experience

5
spepper1 on 11/02/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

I had a great experience buying a car for the very first time. Lee was very helpful and patient with me during this process. He has checked in with me since I bought the vehicle to make sure everything is going well, which I appreciate. Thank you for a good experience!


Worth the Trip from Des Moines

5
Danol on 10/30/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Just picked up our second CR-V. Doug was awesome to work with. This was the true Honda Experience I was looking for. Glad I made the drive!


Partick Daugherty was awesome!

5
grlomboy on 10/25/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

My husband and I were in search for a reliable and fuel saving car within our budget. Patrick Daugherty was really wonderful in assisting us in the process. Just want to say thank you for helping us with our search. We really enjoyed the experience. We love our Honda Civic!


Excellent

5
Kim Danna on 10/18/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

The people that worked there are very nice and know what they are doing. the person that sold e the car was very nice and worked well with me and what I could a ffored.


Great Dealership, great experience.

5
p3crick on 10/11/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Richard Altman Love my new CRV. Doug was great and made buying the car a pleasant experience. Was impressed with the Dealership and would recommend it to anyone.


purchasing new vehicle

5
Sheryl Phillips on 10/08/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Wonderful service love my new CV-R. Doug was wonderful explaining layout of the vehicle' test drive and worked very hard for a good price purchase. He explained leasing a vehicle compared to purchasing a vehicle. Will definitely come back to see him again. I feel strongly that Honda should cover the oil change expense due toy traveling to Ames. I have heard other dealerships cover this.


Great Experience Buying New Odyssey from Doug!!!

5
Doug.Neumann on 10/03/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

We would highly recommend buying a car from Doug! After visiting several other dealerships, his low pressure and fact-based approach was refreshing. He was very courteous and professional throughout the process. We look forward to our next visit!


Great Experience

5
joelweeks on 10/02/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Richard's no pressure approach really made us feel at ease. He showed us our options and let us decide what met our needs. That was greatly appreciated.


Purchased new Honda Odyssey

5
aldonald on 10/01/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Lee Muller was the sales consultant on the purchase of our Honda Odyssey EX/RES. We especially appreciated his knowledge and expertise. We found Lee and others in the dealership to be friendly and helpful. Lee's communication with us was exceptional. He not only e-mailed us, but called us several times to let us know about the progress of the delivery of our van. He also fully explained the new features on our van in a patient and professional manner.Lee even called us to follow up on how our trip home went . He let us know that he was available 24/7 for any questions that we would have concerning the vehicle Again I would say that Lee is an excellent communicator and a great salesperson to work with. I would recommend him and the dealership to anyone who is in the market for another vehicle.


Excellent experience

5
chipie on 09/25/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Our experience, working with Joel was very pleasant. We have another Honda as well, and take it to Honda of Ames for servicing, even though we purchased it from another dealership. The service department always treats us very well also, and we decided to get our new car from Honda of Ames based on our experience with their service department.When it comes time for another vehicle, we will most certainly come back to Honda of Ames.Thanks, Joel, for the extremely pleasant experience!.


Working with Brian Fox was an experience in professionalism.

5
bedene on 09/25/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Not only was Brian Fox knowledgeable, but he also demonstrated care and concern for a first time car buyer on her own. My husband died in August. He explained all the processes and I felt comfortable with the decisions I had to make. I will be confident in future dealings with the dealership.


Easy Car Buying Experience

5
jlempia on 09/24/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Doug made the buying process very easy on me! Service was fast and very friendly. I will get my next car from him as well.


Nice and fast trade

5
Meijian Li on 09/24/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

I got a new Honda Civic recently. The buying experience is quite nice. People work there are kind and helpful. I do recommend this dealership.


Wow !!Just Wow

5
ahofman1 on 09/18/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

After a bad experience at Toyota of Des Moines (asked for $200 down payment before they could run my credit app) I was discouraged and gave up on getting a new vehicle. I currently have less than perfect credit and expected a rate of 9.9% on a used car like I am receiving now. Working with Doug was a pleasure. He turned my car buying experience around. Made it a pleasure and did all the leg work. He got me into a BRAND New 2014 Nissan Sentra with a 0.9% rate. I could not believe it! I got $1,500 dollars more for my trade than the other dealership offered me. I am so pleased with my new car the the way I was treated by Doug. Let's not forget JT from the wonderful finance dept who worked so hard for me. I will be back for maintenance and oil changes and refer everyone I know to Honda and Nissan of Ames !


Excellent Experience

5
cbruno2 on 09/15/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Highly recommend this dealership. The staff is very courteous and professional. Bill is very knowledgable about cars and helped me get a good deal on a 2013 Civic. I will be buying from here again.


Very friendly, helpful and emphasis on cutomber service

5
dealer14 on 09/12/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Sales team was very informative and answered all my questions and inquiries with respect and in a casual relaxed environment. Sales team also was very accomodating with a desire to want to put together a package that was right for me and maintained continued follow up when searching for the vehicle I wanted. Great service all around.


Purchased 2014 Nissan Sentra

5
debbiekaa on 09/07/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

I was very pleased with the friendly and helpful staff at Honda of Ames. They took the time to answer all of my questions and to help me make a purchase that was suitable for me.


Puchased a Used Hyundai Sonata from Doug Krogman.

5
erikcharter on 09/05/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

We purchased a used 2007 Hyundai Sonata from Doug Krogman and had a great experience. Price was fair and everyone was good to work with.


Purchased a 2014 CRV

4.8
Susan Anderson on 09/05/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 4.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

We purchased a 2014 CRV on 9/2/14. We are very happy with our purchase and appreciate all the help Adolfo gave us. He answered all our questions and was very knowledgeable, especially about the differences in the models. He was great to work with, as were all the employees of Honda of Ames. Just another reason we keep buying Hondas.


Labor Day Sale

5
lee.navin on 09/03/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Doug Krogman of Honda of Ames is a wonderful Sales Consultant, he made our Labor Day purchase a Labor Free purchase. Thanks for working on the holiday and hope many more sales come your way.


Helpful, insightful, and fun

5
depruisner on 08/31/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

We are fortunate to have worked closely with Doug Krogman and Joe Tigner. They helped us lease a 2014 Honda Civic LX. Doug was understanding of our situation with our '95 Jeep Grand Cherokee, as he could relate to the problems we were experiencing since he had one in the past too. He was very knowledgeable about the Civic and answered all of our questions and gave instructions well in the process. Also, Joe helped us find the right fit for what things we needed on the car and set up reasonable payments for us. We enjoyed working with them. I would certainly recommend this dealership to anyone seeking to lease or buy a quality Honda vehicle.


Enjoy driving my CR-V

5
caroush on 08/25/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Thank you for demonstrating some of the good qualities of my new car. It made it easier as I tried other cars. I could make a comparison.


Quick Sale and Great Negotiations

5
montecarlo2k on 08/22/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Very efficient. We came and got what we needed at a fairly negotiated price. We're very excited to have a new, reliable work car.


Used Car buying experience

5
joe.lynch.3990 on 08/21/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

I had an awesome experience buying my used 2008 Honda Accord last night at Honda of Ames. Doug was extremely helpful and willing to show me many different vehicles on the lot. He was very patient and professional with us from start to finish. We were there until almost 10:30pm but we got her done!! That's dedication to the job. period... I can't say that I've had a better car buying experience anywhere in my history of buying cars, both new and old. I'm glad to be back in a Honda and don't think I'll ever own anything else.Joe Tigner was also very helpful taking care of the finance portion of the deal. He was VERY good at what he does and is a master of his domain. Very cheerful and funny guy while being professional made that a painless process. From one Joe to another... Kudos to Joe T!Thanks guys! :)


worst experience ever

1.4
donnaday on 08/21/2014

Customer Service: 1.0 Quality Of Work: 1.0 Friendliness: 1.0 Pricing: 3.0 Overall Experience: 1.0

went to this dealership looking for a used vehicle. found one within my price range. Asked the dealer if there were any mechanical issues with the car and he assured me there weren't. I asked at least 2 more times about any issues just to make sure and was told that they look over all their used cars and fix any problems. So stupidly I purchased the car trusting they were being truthful. Took it to reputable mechanic that I've dealt with many times and whom I know I can trust. They did a thorough inspection and handed me a list of $2000 worth of things that needed fixed. I went back to Honda of Ames and showed the manager the list and asked why I wasn't informed of any of these issues. He tried to blame it on the mechanic. Claimed the mechanic was just trying to get money out me. I asked if they (the dealership) was willing to help pay for some of the expenses of getting it fixed and was told no, they weren't going to help. He offered to let me buy another car but at that time I was so frustrated with them that I didn't want to have to deal with them anymore. I would never ever ever buy a car from them again.


Pleasant car purchasing experience

4.8
bret4isu on 08/17/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 4.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Went with wife and children and purchased a car. Brian was friendly and accommodating. Was knowledgeable about the cars he was selling. Answered the many questions we had and gave us our space as we were discussing the purchase. The car was priced very competitively. There was not pressure on us to make the purchase, which is a plus. We made the purchase. A couple of observations for improvement for the dealership - like many they have too many cars close together and not much customer parking. The detailing was pretty good but could have been better, corners, upholstery, folded down back seat and found candy wrapper. These did not stop us from making a purchase. I would highly recommend Honda of Ames and salesman Brian Fox.


Ask for Doug

4.2
Mom81414 on 08/15/2014

Customer Service: 4.0 Quality Of Work: 4.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 4.0 Overall Experience: 4.0

Doug is fantastic to work with. He doesn't do the hard pressure sales that usually have me running from dealerships. Just a nice guy who will help get you exactly what you want in your new car.


Doug Krogman is Great!!! Yes "Doug" , Honda Ames

5
tongcumt on 08/15/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

I have a great experience here. Thanks all the people who worked with me for my new car. Doug is very helpful and friendly, My wife and I all think Doug is a highly qualified salesman. We also thank Lia Erickson and the gentlemen who worked with the document. I would like to tell my friends, "if you want to buy a car, please go to Honda of Ames, please talk to Doug Krogman, he can make you happy."


Never again

1
jgast1998 on 08/11/2014

Customer Service: 1.0 Quality Of Work: 1.0 Friendliness: 1.0 Pricing: 1.0 Overall Experience: 1.0

Purchased a used vehicle. Within a week we had problems, but of course there was no recourse. Two garages identified problems with the car. Honda of Ames reportedly towed the vehicle back to their garage to look at it, but said there was nothing wrong with it. Turned out they drove it to Ames from Des Moines when they said they would have it towed. We learned a sour lesson and would neither purchase nor recommend Honda of Ames to anyone.


Liking my 2014 Civic more each day

4.8
dsmjackess on 08/11/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 4.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Was just looking at inventory and had no intention of actually purchasing the car that day, but they worked with me and we arrived at a price that I felt was fair to me. I was able to get the combination of options and interior/exterior I wanted, finalize the deal, write the down payment check that evening and pick my Civic up the next morning. But the bad news is, with the Civic's reputation for reliability, I am not expecting to be shopping for a new car again for a bunch of years. Sorry about that, guys.


Smooth sailing dealing at Honda!

5
Glenn37 on 08/04/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

We had a great experience and actually a fun time in our recent purchase at Honda of Ames. We traded our2008 Honda Accord in for a 2014 Honda Accord. Doug Krogman was our main salesman and he was sofriendly, helpful and patient with us! It was a pleasure to work with him. Joe Tigner who handled financeswas so knowledgeable and helped us understand all his figures! The General Manager was so nice also andeasy to work with. We love our new Accord and we had a great time buying it!Glenn and Mary KappelmannP.S. Mel in Service has always been very helpful!


Friendly Experience

4.8
jlmuhlbauer on 07/26/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 4.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

I walked into Ames Honda looking for a vehicle to replace our current van. Adolfo put me at ease upon my first visit, sharing with me the similarities and differences between the Sienna and Odyssey and being up front about their drawbacks. That and my own research online allowed me to make a more informed decision when it came down to purchasing our new Honda Odyssey. I appreciated their willingness to work with me on price and while I felt my old van was worth a little more than they did, I'm satisfied with the price I paid. I was really impressed with how well they covered features of our new van with us, making sure we understood different aspects of the many functions, warranties, etc. They answered our questions and offered to be there down the road should others arise. They also showed us where to report at their dealership should we require service, accessories, etc later. Doug was very thorough. Overall great experience. Friendly people.


I love Honda!!!

5
lchoyle21 on 07/26/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

I went into Honda of Ames with just the intention to find out what my trade was for my 2007 Honda Civic. I was told honestly that private party would get me more, which I already knew so I pursued to sell my car. I went in and made sure I would be approved for exactly what I wanted and how to go about getting it. Adolfo answered or returned every single one of my annoying phone calls with numerous questions and sat down with me and went over every detail. I felt comfortable knowing I was getting the best deal and I was treated like family. I then sold my previous car and they rushed to get me financing and even found me a better rate and gave me an amazing deal! I love my 2014 Honda Civic and wouldn't think to go anywhere else for my new car :) Thanks guys!


Honda of Ames - Great Dealers

5
Psimons on 07/19/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

I had a very good experience purchasing my 2014 Ridgeline. Staff was very good to deal with. I started my experience with Kyler Krogman and finished with Doug Krogman, how cool is that!


Excellent dealers

5
JinHyukKim on 07/18/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Good prices and quality of cars.Fast process of paper works to purchase cars.Easy to understand their explanation of manual.Reasonable price on warranty.


Good price and quality of cars!

5
Jin on 07/18/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Buying Process: 5.0 Quality Of Repair: 5.0 Overall Facilities: 5.0

I went to the honda of ames to purchase my new vehicle. It was really fast to go through the paper work process. Easy to understand their explanation of manuals. Excellent price for both vehicle and warranty.


Best Honda Dealers in Iowa!

5
shuklavaani on 07/10/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Joel was a pleasure to work with. He worked really hard to accommodate all our preferences and price negotiations. He took extra time to explain the features of the car even when it was late in the night and past the dealership's closing time. The management of Honda of Ames has also been very prompt and friendly in their approach. We walked out happy and satisfied. All in all, we'll not look at any other Honda dealer in Iowa again! I Highly recommend Honda of Ames!


Honda of Ames - our dealer of choice!

5
Heather Withers on 07/06/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Our recent experience of buying a car at Honda of Ames was a very pleasant one. Lindy Ellett was friendly and helpful, professional, knowledgeable and listened to what we wanted. From the initial search to the paper signing all the staff were courteous and competent.We are delighted with our car and all the features Lindy pointed out to us. Recently, we drove it on a 1,600 mile round trip to Texas. We were very pleased with its performance.We have told several people how much we appreciated the excellent service we received. Honda of Ames is definitely our dealer of choice! Don and Heather Withers


Don't give them your contact info

2.6
thecoolmacdude on 07/05/2014

Customer Service: 2.0 Quality Of Work: 3.0 Friendliness: 2.0 Pricing: 4.0 Overall Experience: 2.0

Lee kept hounding and hounding us and when we told him we got a better price elsewhere, he hounded us some more. Don't give them your contact info if you value your privacy and sanity.


The best car buying experience ever!

5
ChrisBrubaker2014 on 07/04/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

I have found my new "go to" spot for buying cars. Honda of Ames and salesperson Jared Taylor were wonderful! I found the vehicle I was interested in on their easy to use website and every detail from that find to driving off in my new car was perfect. Jared Taylor is the type of salesperson you hope for - kind, respectful , patient, and willing to do the right things for the customer. I commend Jared for his work ethic and exceptional customer service. I would recommend working with him above all. Honda of Ames earned five stars across the board. Thank you for making my recent car buying experience a great one Jared!-Chris Brubaker


Great, Friendly Service

4.8
ADelaney on 06/30/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 4.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Doug was a pleasure to work with. We gave him the specifics of what we were looking for and he worked hard to find us options in our price, miles, etc. ranges. He was friendly throughout our experience from the first phone call to finishing up the paperwork. Honda of Ames had a nice selection of used cars at a good value, and we are happy with our overall experience/purchase!


Excellent experience!!

5
5Andersons on 06/27/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

This was the best experience I have ever had at any dealership from start to finish. No pushing for something I didn't want and very friendly staff from sales, to financing and up to the management. Doug was easy to work with and did all he could to get me what I needed. Thanks Doug for selling us our first NEW car! We will definitely be back in the future!


Salesman for new vehicle

5
CharMiller on 06/22/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

I bought a new Honda from Honda of Ames per Kyler Krogman and he was very personable and accommodating in talking with him about the Honda Accord I wanted. He was able to answer all my questions. He even twisted my arm for the photo.


Honda of Ames

5
btking on 06/20/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

This is a great dealership to visit when looking for a car. Great service, friendly workers, and just a good experience. I had a great experience overall.


Honda of Ames

5
Btking on 06/20/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Buying Process: 5.0 Quality Of Repair: 5.0 Overall Facilities: 5.0

This dealership is a great place to go to when looking for a car. They have great costumer service , friendly workers, and were very helpful. I had a great experience overall.


Wonderful experience

5
christinavoigts on 06/11/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Our experience was wonderful! The van we were hoping to test drive had already been sold so Doug found us another van to look at. We really appreciated that he thought of our needs/wants and found another van for us to consider. We test drove the van and it was a great experience. We found two concerns with the van, but we addressed those and they are being fixed. We are grateful that the dealership fixed the problems so quickly. Doug was very personable and patient as we had our two young children with us.


Smooth and good deal!!

5
Pavanpg on 06/10/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

When I heard people giving good reviews of Ames Honda, I thought it was just an exaggeration. But when I spoke to Kyler and Joe, everything seemed to be real and not just exaggeration. I would surely recommend Ames Honda to my friends.


Terrific service overall.

5
kcglassonion on 06/09/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

The sales team really no their vehicles. Friendly and inviting experience from sales team to finance department. Doug and Joe did an outstanding job of making my vehicle shopping experience better than any other dealership I've ever purchased a car from. Beautiful car at a beautiful price. I'm happy!


miguel Villafana

5
miguel27 on 06/05/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Love my new Honda Accord Sport. Lee is an awesome guy. It was a great process of buying the car. Lee was very friendly and very helpful. I would definitely recommend Honda of ames as a good dealer to have a car from.


My experience working with Doug krogman

4.6
Austingerritson on 05/19/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 4.0 Overall Experience: 4.0

My overall experience working with Doug was wonderful. He worked hard to ensure my wife and I got a vehicle that worked for our family, that was clean and reliable. Doug assisted us in working out a car we could afford but that was much newer and nicer than we expected. I would highly recommend coming here to anyone I know. My wife had to leave a few times and Doug was very patient working around our schedule.


WE LOVE THIS PLACE!

4.8
debsbreaktime on 05/15/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 4.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Yes, it's true! You CAN have a great car-buying experience! Doug felt more like a coach or a mentor than a sales rep as he explained the various options and special features of the vehicles we were interested in. He also took time to help us understand the difference between leasing and buying, so we could decide which option was best for our family. We feel good about buying local, and we love our new CR-V! Thanks, Doug and the staff at Honda of Ames! Ray and Deb Anderson


Vehicle purchase

4.8
jay_rusanda on 05/13/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 4.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Thank you Patrick "Randy" for your great work with us. We thought we were going to be purchasing a car and ended up with a SUV! We love it! Thank you for getting Nissan to help us get bumper to bumper vehicle warranty we were able to purchase on a used vehicle for the 6yr.term of our contract. We look forward to our next vehicle with you in a few years or less.Jay&Kila Rusanda


Outstanding customer service by Lee Muller

5
JayP147 on 05/10/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Love my new Honda CR-V and loved to buy it from an awesome guy Lee. It was a great process of buying the car. Lee was very friendly and very helpful. I would definitely recommend Lee Muller as a good dealer to have a car from.thanks Lee.. wil see u again.


Excellent salesperson

5
Sameer on 05/04/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Doug was very easy to work with and portrayed exceptional customer service for my new Honda Accord. He made it easy for me to choose a car and worked with me on getting my paperwork together. I would highly recommend him for your purchase.


purchase experience

5
mike 2007 on 05/02/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

iam glad that I bought my 2003 Honda civic ex 2-door coupe from you and I plan to buy a 2005 Honda civic ex 2-door coupe from you as well. and I give you all 5s across the board as I could not be more satisfied than I already am with the used car that I purchased from you recently.


my used car purchasing experience buying my honda

5
mike lathen on 05/02/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Buying Process: 5.0 Quality Of Repair: 5.0 Overall Facilities: 5.0

iam very pleased with my 2003 Honda civic ex 2-door coupe. and I would buy from you again and again too.


Re-leasing a new Honda Accord was a breeze

5
BadlanzHPE on 05/01/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Took our 2012 to get oil changed and tires rotated. Brian ran some numbers, and we came to a very nice price and agreed to lease a 2014. Love the car and the nice treatment we received!!! A+++++++++++++


Enjoyable experience

5
juliao76 on 05/01/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

I really enjoyed dealing with Doug who was honest and straightforward and went out of his way to help me. Thank you! I am loving my new car!


Great Service, Clean facilities

4.7
Bonita on 04/29/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Buying Process: 4.0 Overall Facilities: 5.0

The staff was friendly and courteous. The facilities were clean.


A great experience!

5
L4054 on 04/26/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

We had an outstanding experience. I don't know how it could have gone any better. I knew I may need to replace my current vehicle sometime within the year, but wasn't at all sure what I wanted. I stopped by the dealership one afternoon and happened to meet Adolfo. He was very helpful listening to my situation and helping me sort out what would be best for me. I drove several vehicles my first visit and really liked his approach, very easy to talk with, very well informed, not at all pushy but more interested in helping me get the vehicle that's best for me. A few weeks later, I ended up deciding to replace my current vehicle sooner than anticipated so emailed Adolfo one evening. We exchanged several emails quickly and he worked with me to the point where my wife and I drove to Ames the next evening. She drove the Honda Fit and we agreed that's what we wanted. We had expected we would have to return a few days later to pick up the Fit, but to our surprise they got it ready for us while we did the paperwork, credit app, trade-in, and even stayed open an hour after closing time! Couldn't have had a better experience--highly recommended!


Doug Krogman

4.8
marjoriegroves on 04/26/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 4.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Doug Krogman did a good job answering our questions and working to get us best prices on the 2012 Cr-V we were buying and the 2005 Cr-V we were trading in.


Bought a new fit!

5
Leksell on 04/25/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Adolfo was great - attentive but not pushy. Arranged for an extended drive (3 hours) so I could make sure the Fit fit my hip. Price was excellent. Easy finance staff (Ben) went the extra mile at the last minute. All people at the dealership were friendly. Showroom and waiting room extraordinarily clean and light. Really enjoyed the experience. I would recommend this dealership to anyone - Adolfo did an excellent job - and I love my FIT! I am the retired Hamilton County Treasurer and have found Lithia's paperwork was submitted in a timely manner with minimal errors. Title staff were courteous and knowledgeable over the phone.


Used Honda purchased

4.6
saraimajak14 on 04/24/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 4.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 4.0

I really love my used Honda and the Salesperson that worked with me was very friendly, courteous and helpful! I didn't feel overly pressured to buy and would feel comfortable returning for any concerns that I might have!


Great Service, Great Vehicle

4.8
judibrown on 04/24/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 4.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

The staff at Honda of Ames were friendly, helpful, and low pressure. Doug Krogman showed us exactly what we wanted to see and helped us decide between purchase or lease. I was already sold on the Honda CRV before I went to the dealership, but Doug sold me on Honda of Ames.


New Car Purchase

5
drpatel3 on 04/24/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Doug Krogman gave us the best deal with exactly what we wanted. We were very pleased with the service at Honda of Ames. Would work with them again for sure.


Buying used car/Trading in SUV

5
Monty1954 on 04/19/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Great experience and has been the only place me and my family (including children) has bought cars and plan in the future when needed. My wifw really enjoys the 2012 Accord we purchased. Doug was a great and considerate salesman He did a great job in working with us.


Great Experience buying a new car

4.6
stacymonroe on 04/14/2014

Customer Service: 4.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 4.0

When I drove the Honda CRV I was impressed with the salespersons familiarity with the vehicle and that he took the time to explain the car to me as well as show me how everything worked, even before purchase. He has done follow-ups after the sale to ensure I don't have any questions and make sure everything is okay with the vehicle which I appreciate.We were able to agree on a price for the vehicle fairly quickly. The experience of pricing the trade took a little while as did the financing, but all ended well for both parties I believe. I've been very pleased with the car so far in the 4 days I've owned it and believe it will be a good purchase going forward.


Doug did a very good job in working with me towards an...

4.8
eric on 04/07/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 4.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Doug did a very good job in working with me towards an acceptable purchase price for me and the dealership. He was straight forward in his approach and really made what can be stressful into something very palatable. He did a great job explaining things and keeping things moving in the transaction and was very patient in the process. In summary I think Doug did a great job!


Purchased a used car

4.8
Jesserae52 on 04/05/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 4.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

I specifically came to look at one car, a pontiac g6. They were firm on the price, however dropped it as i agreed to pay for the fabric protection and undercoat protection on the car. The price came out even, but i'm happy to have a "free" service.


Bill is a good salesman.

4.8
kkehrli on 04/03/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 4.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

He helped us find the car that worked best for our family, and did what was needed to ensure a great experience. He even covered the cost of repairing a chip in the windshield on his own so we wouldn't have to.Thank you! We owe you cookies sir.


Ames Honda was a remarkably refreshing experience. ...

5
opieop on 04/02/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Ames Honda was a remarkably refreshing experience. I'm normally not impressed with salesmen. I pride myself in walking away from the gimmickry and scripted non-sense that they're constantly exposing us to. The culture here seemed to be different. Most car dealerships appear to be clean and pleasant. Ames Honda was certainly no exception but the people I met there were truly exceptional. Kyler Krogman, the young upstart who sold us a Honda CRV, made us feel like he was working for us and not Honda. Even after the sale he spent a great deal of time re-reviewing the cars features and treating us more like friends than customers. A big thank you also to the service manager ( should be a salesman) Jeff, whose input was very, very valuable and gave us confidence in our decision. Thanks also to Doug who is amazingly professional. Finding a trustworthy business is rare and finding Ames Honda was truly an unexpected pleasure.


Car purchase

5
carann529 on 03/31/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

The people at the car dealership were friendly and worked with us on a fair price for the vehicle. It is close to Ankeny too.


I can't say enough good things about my experience...

5
sredican on 03/31/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

I can't say enough good things about my experience with Jared and Paul. Their professionalism and willingness to make me, as a buyer, happy with the car buying process prompted me to drive 10 hours to buy my car.


Doug and I were able to arrive on a price before I went...

5
chris116 on 03/24/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Doug and I were able to arrive on a price before I went to the dealership since I already knew which car I wanted. He took us for a test drive and we filled out paperwork. When we picked up the car we were again given an overview of what all was on the car. Everyone at the dealership were friendly, kind, and professional


Doug K. was very friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. ...

5
mjlandmark on 03/21/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Doug K. was very friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. We felt comfortable with him immediately. He gave us his full attention, without distractions. He did not hesitate to honor our price request about our trade-in. We had not purchased/leased a car in 12 years, and very happily drove away in our CRV from your Honda dealership! The next day Doug followed up with a phone call, offering his continued help in any way. Because of him, we will gladly recommend Honda of Ames to others.


Doug was friendly, gave good and accurate answers to my...

5
riderofharleys on 03/21/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Doug was friendly, gave good and accurate answers to my questions, worked with me on my car budget and when I got my car showed me all of the features it had. I was very impressed by his knowledge and also his efficiency in getting the new car I wanted and could afford.


Wow, one of the easiest and best car buying experiences...

5
shorty62 on 03/17/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Wow, one of the easiest and best car buying experiences I've ever had. Doug and James took great care of me and were super friendly without the "fakeness" of some salesmen. When I had a question they answered plainly and openly and really knew what they were talking about. I was able to take advantage of a great lease special so that made the process even easier to make a decision. These guys are the ones to talk to when you want to buy a great car!


As a first time car-buyer, I was very apprehensive at the...

5
mrtodd7 on 03/12/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

As a first time car-buyer, I was very apprehensive at the experience I would have in purchasing my first car. When my dad and I first walked in the door at Honda of Ames, we were greeted by a very friendly man who introduced himself as Doug. Doug took my dad and I through the entire purchase process, and was very patient as we decided which car would be the best fit for me. I would not only recommend Honda of Ames to anyone looking to purchase a car, but would also strongly recommend Doug as a sales associate. I was so impressed with him that I plan on buying all future cars through him.


I have enjoyed excellent service here for many years with...

4.8
4x6PLfhs on 03/09/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 4.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

I have enjoyed excellent service here for many years with my 2004 Honda Civic. Their service team is very helpful, friendly, competent and thorough. Doug Krogman was very helpful as the salesperson for the recent purchase of my new 2014 Honda Civic.


We were considering Honda for a while and stopped in...

5
jh1045 on 03/06/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

We were considering Honda for a while and stopped in around 4 o'clock and began visiting with Doug and some of the other staff and felt very comfortable with them. We finally decided on a CR-v and began the process of completing our order. My wife had a meeting that she needed to attend and the sales people went overboard to get things completed in a timely manner.


$18,999

Mileage: 53070

Color: BLUE

Transmission: Automatic

Body Style: Sedan

City: Ames, IA

Engine Type: 4 Cyl

$14,499

Mileage: 33304

Color: BLACK

Transmission: 6-Speed Automatic

Body Style: Sedan

City: Ames, IA

Engine Type: 1.4L I4 16V GDI DOHC Turbo

$27,770

Mileage: 0

Color: BLUE

Transmission: Automatic CVT

Body Style: SUV

City: Ames, IA

Engine Type: 1.5L I4 16V GDI DOHC Turbo

Go to all dealer listings


® 2020 CARSDESK. All Rights Reserved.