Harold Zeigler Ford Plainwell

3.5
Overall Rating

Customer Service: 3.4 Buying Process: 3.9 Quality Of Repair: 3.6 Overall Facilities: 3.9 Quality Of Work: 1.0 Friendliness: 4.0 Pricing: 4.3 Overall Experience: 3.7


By clicking the button, you agree to our submitted.

Great job Service center at Plainwell Ziegler Ford

5
Tyrone S on 11/02/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Buying Process: 5.0 Quality Of Repair: 5.0 Overall Facilities: 5.0

The Service staff was very professional and understanding Great customer service. A good group of people at Plainwell Ziegler Ford. Travis is a very nice and helpful young man. Keep up the good work guys. I have been a customer of Ziegler Ford in Plainwell for nearly 20 years and always been satisfied with the my vehicle experiences. So if you are looking for a vehicle come to Plainwell Ziegler Ford.


Worse dealership ever!!!

1
Tyler Swinehart on 10/31/2016

Customer Service: 1.0 Buying Process: 1.0 Quality Of Repair: 1.0 Overall Facilities: 1.0

Worse car dealership in MI, I don't know a service place where you schedule an appt. for 9 am then show up for them to tell you they can't fix it until 1.... That's bad!!!


responding

4
BWP on 08/31/2016

Customer Service: 4.0

Responded to my email very quickly, the very next morning


JUNK CARS

2
Tracy on 08/02/2016

Customer Service: 2.0 Buying Process: 2.0 Quality Of Repair: 1.0 Overall Facilities: 3.0

Please do not buy an AS IS car from this place. You will be sorry!! Have your mechanic check out everything before signing. I thought I was getting the Harold Zeigler name and ended buying a piece of junk I have to pay on for the next 5 years.


Impossible to communicate with

1
Vanna on 07/13/2016

Customer Service: 1.0

Called very interested in a car I found online, discussed the car with the salesman who answered - when I called back half an hour later to buy it sight unseen I was told it was in the shop, despite being told it was in great shape earlier, and that they would call me back as soon as they diagnosed it. I received no call and when I finally got ahold of them several days later I was told it was in such bad shape that it was being auctioned. Then I saw it relisted online for a higher price, assuming they fixed the issue I called again and got no call back. In total I called called 22 times over 3 weeks trying to buy it, they don't answer or return messages. When I finally got someone they told me they sold it out of state hours earlier. The entire experience was bizarre, I have never tried so hard to buy a car and had such uninterested salesmen. As a side note - all my financing was in place from the start and I never haggled on any of the 3 different prices they had it listed at - I don't know how I could have been an easier customer.


Sight unseen internet purchase

5
Jeff T on 07/08/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Buying Process: 5.0

First time used car buyer on the Internet, skeptic changed to cheerleader. Rob Caro responded to my every question quickly and accurately. Even the general manager provided a Holiday response. These gentlemen work hard and keep promises. He literally called me while driving the truck to answer all my handling questions accurately and the vehicle showed up from a 4 hour drive from my home, delivered for free! I love my first time truck buy! Great experience. Great dealership, Great salesman, oh, and the price was the best anywhere!!!


No Call No Show

1
Not going to shop here on 06/24/2016

Customer Service: 1.0

I emailed them about a truck I found on line. Never received a response to my email question. I called the dealership asking for contact name on the listing. I tried 3 different times and. It ones did he answer his pages. On the last call I asked for a different sales person. At that point they put me through to his cell phone. I left a voice mail staring who I was and what vehicle I was calling about. That was two weeks ago. I still have not received an email or phone call.


Lost and Found

4.8
Betty on 05/05/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Buying Process: 5.0 Quality Of Repair: 5.0 Overall Facilities: 4.0

My salesman, Don Malz, was very pleasant and knowledgeable. He communicated well, answering all of my questions thoroughly. This increased my confidence in making the car purchase. The finance manager was also easy to work with. He seemed very organized with sale paperwork.


Great experience-low pressure sales

4
Momof2boys on 03/05/2016

Buying Process: 5.0 Overall Facilities: 3.0

Rob was excellent and really was no-pressure salesman. He let us look and test drive until we found the just right car for my son.


internet

0
author on 02/16/2016

I emailed them about a car on their website, they never got back to me.


DO NOT BUY A TRUCK FROM THIS PLACE

1.6
Lucasnoel918 on 01/28/2016

Customer Service: 1.0 Quality Of Work: 1.0 Friendliness: 2.0 Pricing: 3.0 Overall Experience: 1.0

I bought a truck 3 weeks ago and it has been in their shop twice for a total of more than half of the time to get the same problem fixed. After the first time they assured me it was all fixed but soon after the same problem with the engine was still there. Now they won't even cover all the costs to fix it when this shouldn't have been a problem in the first place. I wouldn't recommend this dealership to anyone unless you want to deal with the same problems that I have had.


No email or call

3
MarieP on 09/06/2015

Customer Service: 1.0 Buying Process: 1.0 Quality Of Repair: 5.0 Overall Facilities: 5.0

I did not receive really any feedback about my interested in/ No phone call only any email saying the would contact me which they never did.


Great service on buying a 2013 Ford Escape

5
Forrest Omland on 08/21/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Buying Process: 5.0 Overall Facilities: 5.0

Great experience. K.G. and several members of the sales team stayed late after hours on a very hot Saturday so that I could test drive and sign the paperwork on the perfect vehicle I had been searching for. Thanks very much. Highly recommend.


Great Experience!!

4.7
LauraD on 08/19/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Buying Process: 5.0 Overall Facilities: 4.0

My husband had his heart set on a new yellow Mustang. I walked into Harold Zeigler very frustrated after getting jacked on the price of a Mustang at a different dealership. At the time I had no faith in any dealership since that had been my second bad experience with a dealership in two months. Boy did Harold Zeigler restore my faith! Raleigh and Brent were absolutely great! They returned every phone call promptly, and were very courteous and professional. They bent over backwards to find us the perfect Mustang! They were very patient while we changed our minds on which options we wanted 3 times and finally drove to Chicago to get our Mustang. They even helped us with custom paint and offered a loaner while our Mustang was being painted! My husband ended up with the perfect car and we are very happy! Thank you HZ!


Unbelievable Customer Service

1
KaitlynS on 08/08/2015

Customer Service: 1.0

I called Harold Zeigler Ford around 5:15pm on Friday to inquire about a couple of vehicles I was interested in test driving. I asked for a salesman that seemed to be very highly recommended among the general public to enhance my overall experience with the company. During my call, I explained to him that I lived about 45 minutes from their location and wasn't leaving my house for another 10 minutes or so. Upon receiving his blessing to head down there to check out the vehicles we got in the car to head down there. A few minutes later he left a message on my voicemail to tell me that one of the vehicles had been moved to another location but we would work it out so I was able to test both of them. About 55 minutes later, just after 6pm we show up to a locked and completely closed building. When I called to ask what was going on, I received no return call for about 10 minutes. When I finally did get a call back, his excuse was that "he thought I knew what the hours of operation were." When I told him it seemed a little bit ridiculous that it would be assumed that I would know the hours of every dealership I car shopped at he informed me that I put him between a rock and a hard place because he was riding his bike and it was raining out so he left when I wasn't there. I asked him why he gave us the go ahead to come down and take a look at the vehicles when I told him how far we were away and he just kept saying he didn't know what else to do when I wasn't there at closing time. I don't understand why he could call and leave a voicemail telling me about the change in status of one of the vehicles, but he couldn't leave a voicemail telling me that even though we had just spoken and agreed on the general time frame I was going to be there, he was going to go home because it was sprinkling out. By this time I was fed up with the terrible customer service and informed him that I would be writing a review. I don't want to include his name because I really don't want other potential customers to see him in this light. I just want them to be wary when dealing with this dealership.


I HATE BUYING A CAR

5
David R Banta on 04/01/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Buying Process: 5.0

I gotta tell ya. I hate buying cars. Don't get me wrong, I love owning a new used car, but dealing with used car salesmen...ick! But Harold Zeigler in Plainwell proved to be a positive, downright FUN experience! We were late for our car-buying appointment because we had driven down from Reed City and were pretty hungry for some breakfast. We arrived 15 minutes early so we stopped at a large-chain restaurant with golden arches which shall go un-named. We waited patiently for what seemed like a life-time for our breakfast and nipped over to Zeigler...late. When we arrived, our salesman Don Malz was not in his office. He showed up to great us with a bowl of breakfast. We all laughed at that! Right off the bat, any facades were dropped. What can be a somewhat grueling experience was turned into a pleasurable social event. Don's "real" demeanor and the financial guy, Ray's no-baloney character made for a truly good time. AND we got a beautiful Honda Civic (my first) at a GREAT price!


Everything was fine until I signed

2.3
Monica on 02/16/2015

Customer Service: 1.0 Buying Process: 2.0 Overall Facilities: 4.0

Everything was fine until I signed the paperwork. My car was brought up from the Indiana dealership and the key tag said 1 of 2 keys. I was only given 1 Key. I asked 3 times for the second key and the salesman said he was going to check into it and the drivers were going down to Indiana and he would have them on it. It has been over a month I still have yet to get a response. Also, I gave a call to the manager regarding the same issue thinking surely someone would call me back. I have yet to hear from him. If this is the way you do business. I will not be back.


GREAT GUY TO WORK WITH

5
Happy Customer on 02/16/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Buying Process: 5.0

Steve Verbeek made for a non pushy car buying experience. From start to finish he took the time that I needed to make the right decision on which car would best fit me. Highly recommend him to anyone.


buying a car with Don Malz was quick, easy.

5
LITTLE on 02/05/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Buying Process: 5.0

Great experience buying Lincoln MKZ AWD from Don Malz. Quick easy and affordable. Thank you Don!


Great Service Thank you Brent Nawrocki

4.7
Deb on 12/15/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Buying Process: 5.0 Overall Facilities: 4.0

Great service, everything was ready when we arrived to look at the vehicle. Courteous and knowledgeable. Highly recommended and we will definitely bring our business back. Thank you.


Great service

4.7
Nikki and Phil Hoek on 11/05/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Buying Process: 5.0 Overall Facilities: 4.0

Our salesman was Steve Verbeek from Harold Zeigler of Plainwell. One of the nicest guys ever. He was SO helpful when it came to buying our van. The whole staff was truly great! Thanks Steve!


This is why car salesmen have a bad name!

1.5
Jason on 10/05/2014

Customer Service: 1.0 Overall Facilities: 2.0

Horribly unorganized and not to be trusted. I called earlier in the week after finding two vehicles on their website. The salesman first says he thinks they've been sold because he can't find them. I get a call back a day later saying that they've been found and that they will be available for test drive after 9 AM Saturday. I arrive at 2 PM and neither car is available. Come to find out - they never even had one of them. THE OTHER WAS BEING DRIVEN AROUND BY THE SALES MAN'S DAUGHTER AS A PERSONAL VEHICLE. He even had the audacity to ask us to wait an hour while his daughter brought it back. SERIOUSLY?? Needless to say we walked out. I'd never give this dealership any business and recommend you don't either.


Honest salesperson, good value

4.7
Ron on 09/27/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Buying Process: 5.0 Overall Facilities: 4.0

My wife and I were looking for a slightly used Ford Focus to replace her 14 year old New Beetle. We found several models we were interested in at Harold Zeigler's in Plainwell. Although it is a 40 mile drive from our home, the inventory and advertised pricing was good enough to entice us to make the drive. We spoke with Rob Caro, the used car manager, who was extremely cordial and honest when answering our questions. Some of the questions I asked I already knew the answer to but wanted to hear his response to gage whether I could trust him overall. I was not disappointed. His helpful demeanor, non-pressure approach truly showed that he enjoys his job and made our experience (of picking out a car and spending money!) more relaxing and enjoyable The entire process went very smooth, our used car looked like new, and I will surely return to see Rob when looking for another vehicle in the future.


Poor salesmanship, poor organizational skills.

2.7
Jim on 07/07/2014

Customer Service: 3.0 Buying Process: 2.0 Overall Facilities: 3.0

#1, we found a decent vehicle online for a good price, got to the dealership - they couldn't "find" the vehicle ? #2, out of 20 similar vehicles, they couldn't find one with as good as deal as the one advertised online. #3, finally found something we agreed upon and while they were looking up pricing, which is a chore evidently (?), I found old damage on a door/rear panel. We asked about it, and their response was "Oh, yeah, it had been in a collision and repaired". We kept shopping...... #4, they showed us some weird colored rig, small dings all around and some light green paint. I realized they were attempting to push the "unsaleable" units on us ! Especially after we asked about a rig just purchased by them, they didn't want to talk about this unit !!! Overall, they were polite but must have thought I was an idiot, they kept showing me documentation that they were loosing all this money on every rig we looked at.......I'm NOT an idiot !!! It wasn't worth the ride !


Very Pleased

5
BC on 07/01/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Buying Process: 5.0 Overall Facilities: 5.0

We were met by Steve Verbeek right away and requested a test drive of two different vehicles. Both were arranged within minutes and we liked one of the vehicles. A quick look by our local mechanic (30 miles away) was not a problem. Came back with the vehicle in the late afternoon and the sale was completed within an hour. We would highly recommend Steve Verbeek.


Will not do business here

1
Christina W on 05/06/2014

Customer Service: 1.0

Gave this place a second chance after inquiring about a jeep grand cherokee back in March with no return phone call. My husband & I stopped by Saturday 5.3.14 since we were in the area to look. We found a jeep we liked and went inside to find out about a price on my current vehicle and to test drive the jeep. After 20 minutes they could not find the keys to the jeep we were interested in and laughed asking if there was something else we liked. They could not give an accurate price for my current vehicle and the assistant manager promised to talk to his manager on Monday and call me. Well Monday and now Tuesday came and went no call. They clearly have no customer service and don't care to do much business since they don't know how to return calls. I would not do business here or recommend them to anyone.


Disappointed

2
Jennifer V on 05/01/2014

Customer Service: 1.0 Buying Process: 3.0 Quality Of Repair: 1.0 Overall Facilities: 3.0

I recently purchased a vehicle from Harold Zeigler Plainwell (HZP) and am very disappointment that I gave them by time, my money, and my business. I purchased my vehicle just over a month ago and noticed an issue with the vehicle before purchasing. Rather than HZP keeping the car to fix it I was asked to return that weekend to fix the issue. After 8 calls, 2 messages and three weeks I had an appointment to have the vehicle fixed. Upon arriving at the dealership nobody knew who I was, why I was there, or what needed to be done, which unfortunately became the theme of the process. I was requested to call a manger the following day to address my concerns and make arrangement to come back again to have the vehicle fixed. I was placed with a manger that listened to my concerns and assured me that they would all be resolved. It was requested that I return down that day and yet again everything was not as promised. When leaving that day there were 6 things that were promised to be taken care of furthermore I was told they wouldnt be returning my vehicle until these were done and done to my satisfaction. One week later I still had no contact from HZP so I call to find that my vehicle is ready for pickup. Upon arrival my vehicle is unable to be found: once found only 3 of the 6 things promised are completed. When going over this and additional concerns that arose while in their care such as the car being driven over 10 miles during which the highest recorded speed was in excess of 80 miles an hour. I was told there was nothing they could do for me at that time and that I could return at a later date for the car to be detailed. Overall this is a disappointing situation. We purchased a newer used vehicle, with under 30k miles, that needed a couple minor touchups. Even today there was not 1 person who knew what was to be done or even what was done while my vehicle was under their care for 1 week. This, in my opinion represents a total lack of customer service and customer care to the point where HZP is no better than the common local used car lot.


They do not want business

1
Chi-town_sports on 01/22/2014

Customer Service: 1.0

I contacted this dealer about a truck twice in the course of a week and have not heard back from them. It has been three weeks now. I think I will try another dealer that wants to sell a truck.


Rob Caro provided A+++ customer service

5
Alicia K. on 12/16/2013

Customer Service: 5.0 Buying Process: 5.0 Quality Of Repair: 5.0 Overall Facilities: 5.0

Rob Caro is seriously amaze! After 'googling' HZ I started looking on their site. Feeling overwhelmed by so many choices, I called the first number I could find on the site. Rob picked up the phone and was incredibly warm and helpful. We chatted for a bit, and he was off to pick out the SUV I was interested in. Within a few hours he emailed me some choices. The rest is history. He was incredibly professional and FUN to work with! He made buying a car extremely seamless, and I had to do zero work! As long as Rob is there I will continue purchasing my vehicles from him, and recommend you do as well! The finance guy was pretty hilarious as well. All in all a great experience!


Amaze customer service from Rob Caro

5
Alicia K on 12/16/2013

Customer Service: 5.0 Buying Process: 5.0 Quality Of Repair: 5.0 Overall Facilities: 5.0

Rob Caro is seriously amaze! After 'googling' HZ I started looking on their site. Feeling overwhelmed by so many choices, I called the first number I could find on the site. Rob picked up the phone and was incredibly warm and helpful. We chatted for a bit, and he was off to pick out the SUV I was interested in. Within a few hours he emailed me some choices. The rest is history. He was incredibly professional and FUN to work with! He made buying a car extremely seamless, and I had to do zero work! As long as Rob is there I will continue purchasing my vehicles from him, and recommend you do as well! The finance guy was pretty hilarious as well. All in all a great experience!


I was shopping for a couple extended service plans for my...

5
gy9792 on 12/10/2013

Customer Service: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

I was shopping for a couple extended service plans for my vehicles and had a great experience working with Bob at Zeigler. I'm very particular about details, Ford provides a number of options that I needed to weigh and Bob pleasantly provided answers to all my questions and ensured my purchase went smoothly. Thanks Bob!


Excellent service

4.7
Profrjd on 08/27/2013

Customer Service: 5.0 Buying Process: 5.0 Overall Facilities: 4.0

After looking for a couple months at Craiglist and local dealers in the Grand Rapids area for the vehicle wanted, we came to Harold Zeigler Ford because we found that vehicle on the Internet -- priced lower than even the private party sales. The price was really good, the vehicle was in excellent shape. The sales people were excellent -- friendly, helpful, and, best of all -- no pressuring. We worked initially with Don and then mostly with Steve Verbeek, and we could not be happier with the way we were treated. The paper work part was a bit slow, but I understand that can happen if a few people are "in front" of you. We highly recommend searching their inventory on-line and if you find something you like, at least check on it. It was worth the drive for us.


Average at Best

2.7
Disappointed on 06/12/2013

Customer Service: 2.0 Buying Process: 2.0 Overall Facilities: 4.0

We went to the dealership on a Saturday morning. The car we had inquired about was available although it had over a 1,000 more miles on it than was represented. We were told the car had been detailed, 40 point inspection done and serviced. After the test drive we requested and they did clean up some of the interior. We then waited over an hour for our turn to get our paper work done. After getting home we also discovered that they had not serviced the vehicle as they indicated they had. I recommend that you do not take the sales person word for anything without completely checking it out yourself.


Great service

4.7
Selayman88 on 05/06/2013

Customer Service: 5.0 Buying Process: 4.0 Overall Facilities: 5.0

We recently bought another vehicle from a different ford dealer and had a terrible experience, so we were on the defensive with this purchase. Rob, our salesman, was Awesome though! He made us so comfortable and we are confident we bought a vehicle that fits our needs, budget, and even our likes. I am more than pleased and can say I would tell anyone to go see Rob.


Great internet shopping Experience!

5
Norchuk Supply Company on 04/26/2013

Customer Service: 5.0 Buying Process: 5.0

We were in the market for a new delivery vehicle for our small business and amongst the day to day operations of the business it is not convienent to have to go out and look. We found what we were looking for online, contacted them through cars.com, picked it up for a test drive (was not a problem for them that we are in Muskegon, about 70 miles away) and then Rob conducted the transaction of the sale online with us seemlessly. GREAT experience and we love our Transit Connect!


Unhelpful salesperson

2
Reed37 on 03/18/2013

Customer Service: 1.0 Buying Process: 1.0 Quality Of Repair: 3.0 Overall Facilities: 3.0

I was hesitant to purchase from HZ because whenever I've gone to their Kzo location, I've always been treated poorly. However, the Plainwell location had the vehicle I wanted at a price I could afford, so I went ahead for a test drive and decided to get the vehicle. The financing process took hours, and my my poor husband had to try to entertain our toddler. The salesperson NEVER EVEN MENTIONED that they had a playroom for children in their service dept waiting room. After closing the deal, the salesperson handed the keys to me which were BOTH cracked, and one had Scotch tape wrapped all over it to keep it together. I told him I wanted a new key made that wasn't broken. He told me I would have to pay $160 for it. I was almost ready to scrap the deal right then. I hadn't tried to talk the price down or dicker n' deal in anyway prior to that. I told him I couldn't believe he was going to give me a broken key after spending thousands on a 3-yr-old vehicle. He finally decided to include a new key into the deal. When we were getting ready to drive away, my husband noticed the back hatch was bent and starting to rust. The salesperson said he didn't know anything about it. It was late, and I was tired. We had already signed all the paperwork, so we just drove it home. Less than 4 weeks later one of the tire pressure sensors has gone bad and needs to be replaced. My husband called to ask if they would cover it since we haven't even made our first payment yet, and they said no. I love my new vehicle, but hate that I bought it from them. I will never buy from this dealership again, and I will inform all my friends and family who are in the market for a vehicle of how unhelpful this salesperson was.


Stereotypical Used Car Sales People

1.7
CarBuyer1 on 02/01/2013

Customer Service: 1.0 Buying Process: 1.0 Overall Facilities: 3.0

They had a car I wanted, and had a good price on it. Thankfully I knew what I was buying, and felt good about the price. I managed to talk them down considerably. I brought my mechanic with me for the test drive, and I would recommend that to everyone. I got a very "used car salesman" feel to the guy I worked with. He was polite, and helpful, but full of empty sales talk. Very vague about service records, and claimed repairs had been done, that I found out clearly had not. The guy who actually wrote up the deal is really a guy just trying to sell an additional $5,000 plus worth of worthless "warranties" including a $600 warranty on wheels... I can buy a full set for that. This guy is rude, opinionated, pushy, and arrogant. I hated that I had to work with him. After calling back for more information on some repair particulars, they said they would find out and call me back... shocking... no call back. I would never trust them. I happened to find the car I wanted with a clean record, but hated that I had to give these guys my hard earned cash. It is places like this that give used cars salesmen a bad reputation.


CLASS ACT AT HAROLD ZEIGLER FORD Had a bad experience...

5
kk12345 on 01/07/2013

Customer Service: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

CLASS ACT AT HAROLD ZEIGLER FORD Had a bad experience with SEELYE WRIGHT FORD IN KALAMAZOO, MICHIGAN....2012 Ford E-Series Van E-350 SuperE-350 Super New 5.4L SERIES ORDER CODE Tilt Wheel AM/FM Stereo Air ConditioningThey didn't have this Van on their lot but was trying to sell it on EBAY.... After spending 5 hours driving to Seelye and 8 hours waiting for Van, I drove home without it.Jeff Green (GM at Zeigler Ford) heard about my issues from a salesperson from Seelye. He called on my cell phone, we make a deal on the same one (BUT THEY HAD IT IN STOCK) AND I PICKED IT UP THE NEXT MORNING.....


Great Internet Department

4.7
Flex Shopper on 03/31/2012

Customer Service: 5.0 Buying Process: 5.0 Overall Facilities: 4.0

I was surprised how well shopping for this car on the internet worked out. I usually use the internet for research and then go to look at the item in person. Since this dealership was 2 hours away I was working on faith. The staff was all pleasant and professional and the overall purchase experience was pleasant and I feel as if i got a good deal.


Great salesman

5
fastfemale on 01/17/2012

Customer Service: 5.0 Buying Process: 5.0 Quality Of Repair: 5.0 Overall Facilities: 5.0

Cody Patterson provided great service in all areas: customer service, well groomed, clean office, answered questions.


$24,950

Mileage: 44435

Color: White

Transmission: 6-speed Automatic

Body Style: SUV

City: Plainwell, MI

Engine Type: 3.5L V-Shaped

$22,990

Mileage: 62098

Color: White

Transmission: Automatic

Body Style: SUV

City: Plainwell, MI

Engine Type: 2.5L

$28,500

Mileage: 46494

Color: Black

Transmission: 8-speed Automatic

Body Style: Coupe

City: Plainwell, MI

Engine Type: 2L

Go to all dealer listings


® 2021 CARSDESK. All Rights Reserved.