Gillman Subaru

3.5
Overall Rating

Customer Service: 3.6 Buying Process: 3.4 Quality Of Repair: 3.7 Overall Facilities: 4.1


By clicking the button, you agree to our submitted.

Good service

4.5
Spikes on 11/12/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Overall Facilities: 4.0

They've already sold the car when I contacted them but their response was prompt, helpful and friendly.


Spur of the moment repair

5
TchrRita on 07/29/2016

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Repair: 5.0 Overall Facilities: 5.0

I stopped by the dealership unannounced on a rainy Monday afternoon to have my rear view mirror reattached as it had fallen off of the replaced, non-factory windshield. Wally Mendez went to great lengths to find a windshield repairman who would fix the problem promptly. Gillman Subaru Southwest sales and service personnel continue to impress me with their professionalism and customer service. They are honest and forthright, helpful and knowledgable. Thank you Wally Mendez and Gillman Subaru Southwest for giving immediate attention to my little repair. As a repeat customer (this is my third Subaru Forester), I feel valued.


Mrs.Moreno

0
Gloria Moreno on 07/18/2016

I submitted my app online over a week ago, and never got any information from Ms. Zaldivar on it. Trying to buy a mini van for my family.Unprofessional.


shopping

0
Carlton Williams on 04/21/2016

Great customer service I really appreciate it, I'll be back to pick up the #FordFusionSE16 really nice car #TeamCapricorn #TeamGillmanSubaru


Draining,unpleasant experience

2
Blanche on 03/04/2016

Customer Service: 2.0 Buying Process: 1.0 Overall Facilities: 3.0

Car was not available as I was led to believe, after my first visit and request.. No explanation of basic operations how to open trunk, cruise control location and operation, how to open gas tank,.... Was handed a large 2 volume manual. Financial person never made eye contact. Never explained options available. Never asked my finance plans. Did not appreciate my questions Was not informed about mileage on auto in advance of final sale Second visit took over 5 tiring hours Do not feel this is a safe ,honest,friendly dealership for a single woman. I love my Subaru ,just wish I had selected another dealership


Lie to get you to their dealership

0
A mad mom! on 02/29/2016

I emailed to make sure a certain used vehicle was still available. A sales man emailed me back saying yes and wanted to set up an appointment a few hours later to test drive. I called to make sure before I drove an hour to look at it and finally was told after really pushing it sold already but to come look at what else they had......horrible business practice!


Terrible customer service, three months on and no

1.7
William T on 01/25/2016

Customer Service: 1.0 Buying Process: 1.0 Overall Facilities: 3.0

I went into the dealership (Gillman Subaru Southwest) on 10/21/2015 to test drive and purchase a certified preowned 2015 WRX. I had my own financing and a check for the amount of the vehicle. While there I was told the dealership (through Subaru) could get me a better offer on my financing and was asked if I would let them try. I agreed and they came back with a better offer on financing. Everything seemed good at this point. Everything agreed, paperwork signed, $2000 down payment and drove away in my new car believing that the deal was finalized. 5 days before my first payment was due, I called the dealership as I had not received any paperwork from the bank. I was told that the original deal had fallen through and that I would require a new finance deal! I asked why had this not been brought to my attention sooner and why did I have to contact them about it. I feel that I should have been informed of this as soon as the dealership knew about it! I should not have had to contact the dealership to find out this information. In speaking to the General Manager I was told that they would need to take the car back if they couldn't obtain a new financing deal. I was devastated at the thought of losing the car and it caused me a lot stress and anxiety as I would be without transport. At every step to this point I was the one who had to make contact. I was PROMISED multiple times that they would call me and give me an update on the situation. These phone calls never came and I had to call them every time! This in itself is an example of terrible customer service. I went back into the dealership as they had a new finance offer for me. It was at a higher interest rate at an extra $50/month over the original agreement that had been signed by both parties. I later found out that I also had a further 20 hits on my credit report!! I agreed to the new offer and they washed my car and let me pick out a free accessory for the trouble they had caused. At this point everything seemed to have been worked out... Again, about 8 days before my first payment was due I had still not received any paperwork for the loan. I called the dealership and was told that they would get back to me. This call never came, I had to call them again to find out what was happening. I was told that there had been some mix-up in their accounts department and that the finance deal had not been issued to the bank. They were very vague and I was told that the person handling it wasn't available at the moment and that they would call me when they were free. I never received a call back! I decided to call the bank and they had no record of me, my SSN or the VIN number of the vehicle. I called the dealership and was told that they were taking care of it and that I should have the paperwork within a week. One week later and I still have no paperwork and the bank still have no record of me. I was told several times that Gillman would respond to my queries in a timely manner and that I would be contacted. This did not happen once! I had to call Gillman every time. This is the worst experience I have ever had in buying a car, in fact it is the worst experience I've had in buying anything! The level of customer service is atrocious and out right shocking. The fact that I have had to make contact every time to find out what is happening is beyond ridiculous!


Very patient and professional

5
Jeff M. on 12/30/2015

Customer Service: 5.0

I worked with James Rutledge in the Internet Sales department in purchasing a Subaru WRX Limited. Unfortunately, they did not have any Limited's available and weren't scheduled to have any for another month; only one dealership within several hundred miles of Houston had any Limited's on the lot at the time. I ultimately purchased from another dealer. James was absolutely professional and patient through the entire process. While I wasn't able to purchase the vehicle I wanted at Gillman Subaru of Houston Southwest, it will be my dealership of choice when I am next in the market for a Subaru. Excellent customer service.


Our preferred Dealership

4.5
Subaru fan on 08/31/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Buying Process: 5.0 Quality Of Repair: 4.0 Overall Facilities: 4.0

We have bought 3 cars from Gillman Southwest and all 3 experiences have been very positive. The sales staff are professional and not pushy. The quality of services we received has been excellent. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The pricing is competitive too. We will be back in the future.


horrible

0
Isaac on 08/10/2015

they had/have a car listed on cars.com I called on Saturday at 4:30pm. and was told it was still available. I told them I would go on Monday to test drive it and check it out and they said fine. Javier gave me his phone number and told me to text him if I had any questions. on Monday I kept trying to call& text him to see if it was still available and there was no reply, so i called dealership instead they said yes it was available. but the time I got there, surprisingly the car was sold 2 days before, (the same Saturday I called )


Lousy dealer .... Failed to respond !

1
khaled on 06/24/2015

Customer Service: 1.0 Buying Process: 1.0 Quality Of Repair: 1.0 Overall Facilities: 1.0

Dealer did NOT respond to two separate inquires ..... Must not be a dealer who actually wants to sell a car !


Review of Gillman Subaru of Houston Southwest

4.3
Mary S on 03/16/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Buying Process: 4.0 Overall Facilities: 4.0

I bought the car that I was primarily interested in on cars.com. I was pleased with the buying process. Was able to get the car for what I felt was a fair price and the financing was attractive. The entire process was pleasantly easy. The car was purchased late on a Saturday afternoon and was left at the dealership until Monday morning when I returned to pick it up. The only employees available to help me were the service department employees and they did a fantastic job. They found the vehicle keys for me and brought the car around for me.


emailed them, but I was never contacted by them

2
nickd on 02/22/2015

Customer Service: 1.0 Buying Process: 1.0 Overall Facilities: 4.0

Was never contacted after email. Was ready to buy.


Great Salesman Manni

4.5
Rev on 02/11/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Buying Process: 5.0 Quality Of Repair: 4.0 Overall Facilities: 4.0

I was greeted when I came in and there was one of the best automotive consultants there. Manni is the man!!! He had a genuine concert for my purchase and listened ro my needs. I was able to find the vehicle I would enjoy not just from the test drive but for on years to come. He some how found my favorite color and Wayne worked out the details for me to have my new car.


Idyllic Dealership

5
" Mr Tod" :) on 12/21/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Buying Process: 5.0 Overall Facilities: 5.0

I was imagining auto dealerships as shark tanks - you walk in and they skin you up etc.... What a nice surprise Gilman Subaru Southwest is none of that! Jason Khoda (don't forget this name) met me at the door and...well, this was last month. I was undecided shopper - kept test-driving couple of different brands, narrowed my search to Subaru XV Crosstrek, checked all close dealerships, kept talking to sales people, reading emails, researching the web for cars. Lots a nice people out there but this guy - Jason was so kind, professional, informed and true salesman that made me want to come back and buy from him. He killed it - he helped me get the price I was rejected at other places and made the whole sale so convenient for me! Me and my money deserve such nice service :)


No bad sales tactics

5
B Hurn on 12/17/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Buying Process: 5.0 Quality Of Repair: 5.0 Overall Facilities: 5.0

I just wanted to say that the sales people here did not use crazy typical tactics like other car dealerships in town, they were honest and they did not push / over pressure me to buy the car. They also know their inventory which is nice to see.


Oil Changes

5
subaru guy on 12/17/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Buying Process: 5.0 Overall Facilities: 5.0

Getting an oil change today, its not major work but they do a good job here and they have low prices. Today is the 3rd time so I figured to leave a review.


Service advisors

5
Johnny on 12/17/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Buying Process: 5.0 Quality Of Repair: 5.0 Overall Facilities: 5.0

Service advisors are very friendly and they know their stuff. The wait time wasnt bad either so thats good. I prefer to take my car to the subaru dealership versus other places because they know the cars in and out.


(Client x Satisfaction-1) + Product Sell = Profit

4
E.Jordao on 09/29/2014

Customer Service: 3.0 Overall Facilities: 5.0

I was interested on a vehicle that cost more than my budget. I made the contact with the dealer or employee. When I get to the shop I was noticed that the car was sold. It did not make me feel bad so far and the dealer give me a list of cars to see if I am interested and went to see another client. So I quickly realize that it doesn't matter your interest unless you are ready to buy (I would say pay it for, cash the better). So as an European, I just can advise all the clients, do not fill bad to leave the shop if you are insatisfied. Don't lose your time It's your money.


Underhanded Business Practices

1
JeepLover on 07/25/2014

Customer Service: 1.0

I was looking for a used car and found one I thought sounded good. I scheduled a test drive with the dealership and called to confirm the day of the appointment. I spoke with Matt who informed me that he already sold the car I was looking to buy and would I like to see some other, more expensive cars... I know it's industry practice to sell a vehicle to the first person offering to buy the car, but what made me so angry was the fact that that particular car remained on cars.com for MONTHS after it allegedly sold. I really felt like Matt was using a fake ad to lure customers into the dealership where he might sell something in a different price bracket. I will not buy from this dealership because I feel they (or their employees) use underhanded business practices.


Don't Even Ask

1
Spokes on 12/27/2013

Customer Service: 1.0

Looking on cars.com for a Chevrolet SSR. Checked the availability of one at Gillman Subaru. Got an email back telling me that the Chevrolet Colorado was still in stock and I could come in for a test drive. Sent them an email telling them of their mistake and that I was just making an enquiry. Since then getting daily emails and phone calls. DO NOT CONTACT THEM THROUGH CARS. It is relentless and they can't even get your request correct. Certainly don't want to deal with them in the future.


Salesman did not honor our written deal

1
Buyer on 10/24/2012

Buying Process: 1.0

Salesman and manager agreed to sell my son a car by email and ph. Price agreed on. Next day when he went to pay for the car they had sold it to someone else. They didn't tell him until he arrived out at the dealership and had been waiting for 15 minutes to pay for the car. Salesman avoided him and Manager wasn't at all concerned.


Great Car Buying Experience

5
Demanding Buyer on 08/25/2012

Customer Service: 5.0 Buying Process: 5.0 Overall Facilities: 5.0

I just purchased a used car from Gillman. I must say the car was exactly as it was represented on the web site and the salesman (Johnny) and finance manager (Shah) were great to work with. This was one of the easiest and best car buying experiences Ihave ever had. I will recommend this dealership to everyone I know who is car shopping.


Used car

4
Michael on 02/12/2012

Customer Service: 4.0 Buying Process: 4.0 Overall Facilities: 4.0

Sales personnel were helpful and no hassle on the prices.


Oil Change

3
Honda Accord on 12/31/2011

Customer Service: 4.0 Quality Of Repair: 2.0

I went there to change the Oil and the Oil filter for my Honda Accord, but they added too mach oil to the Engine, and I have no time to comeback there. So I will not go there in future any more.


$32,327

Mileage: 3

Color: SILVER

Transmission: Automatic CVT

Body Style: SUV

City: Houston, TX

Engine Type: 2.5L H4 16V GDI DOHC

$30,547

Mileage: 165

Color: WHITE

Transmission: Automatic CVT

Body Style: SUV

City: Houston, TX

Engine Type: 2.5L H4 16V GDI DOHC

$32,769

Mileage: 1

Color: GRAY

Transmission: Automatic CVT

Body Style: SUV

City: Houston, TX

Engine Type: 2.5L H4 16V GDI DOHC

Go to all dealer listings


® 2020 CARSDESK. All Rights Reserved.