City Toyota

3.5
Overall Rating

Customer Service: 3.5 Buying Process: 5.0 Overall Facilities: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 2.9 Friendliness: 3.1 Pricing: 3.3 Overall Experience: 3.1


By clicking the button, you agree to our submitted.

City Toyota are crooks - take your business elsewhere.

1
jay chan on 01/15/2016

Customer Service: 1.0 Quality Of Work: 1.0 Friendliness: 1.0 Pricing: 1.0 Overall Experience: 1.0

Andre Uy, Johnny Lieng, the staff at City Toyota Service are absolute crooks.Please do yourself and our community a favor and take your money, business, and referrals to other reputable repairs shops and dealerships that are actually accountable, have integrity, and have good customer service, and WON'T screw your family out of $1500 on a service you did not agree on. Imagine this:You bring your "older" car in to get your car's power lock serviced and looked at. Johnny calls you and say the repairs will cost $21. You say fine, go ahead with the repairs.When it comes time to pick up the vehicle, you see a staggering $2100 bill. You say that you have never authorized such an obscene amount. Johnny says that you authorized it on the phone, and you must pay the bill or you will not get your car back and they will put a lien on it.In comes Andre, the service manager, to "mediate" the situation. He claims Johnny repeated several times on the phone the amount of "$2100" and whether to go ahead with the repairs. He says his guy is experienced and would know better to ask multiple times on an repair of this bill on an older vehicle. THAT is a lie. Johnny did no such thing. (Your lies will catch up to you. What kind of person doesn't take accountability for their actions? An untrustworthy worker and colleague in the long run - take note Toyota.)The director comes in and says, okay, we'll put the old parts back in, take out the new, and we'll just charge you the $300 investigation fee. Fine, we'll do that just to resolve the matter. 10 minutes later, they call back and say they've thrown out the old part and you're stuck with what you got, the new parts (unauthorized repair), a $1500 bill, or your family won't get the car back to go to their job this week. How do you offer one deal, and call back in 10 minutes and say that's not possible - how convenient, crooks!I called many times throughout this day to speak with Andre to work out the situation, but he was unreachable. And the one time I did get him was 2 hours before closing. He stated that he called me 3 times and the call went to voicemail. If that was the case, why didn't you leave a voicemail? THAT was a lie. Fuming, I drive straight down there just to see Andre conversing and laughing with his colleagues on the side. Who does that to valued customers?All in all, our family is stuck $1500. Who scams a family out of $1500? They will keep using the word "unfortunate situation," and use tactics to sidestep the issue and get your hard earned money. I understand that sometimes some customers won't write a complaint or take the time to write a review; however, don't underestimated what a group of educated customers can do. We have forwarded this issue and complaint to Bureau of Automotive Repair, Better Business Bureau, and other public agencies.I am glad that they monitor review sites, because we understand today that peer review sites are the core of the business. This seems like a well-rounded peer review. City Toyota, do you think the public will trust your word or a peer's review?This is a modern-day shakedown if I've ever seen one. Take some responsibility.Just say NO to City Toyota


Greatness

5
Ivan B. on 01/24/2015

Customer Service: 5.0 Buying Process: 5.0 Overall Facilities: 5.0

First time buyer and the experience was great. No force to buy or any rush to make a decision. Staff was knowledgeable and friendly. Highly recommend to anyone buying. Ask for Vahit or Cris!


Ok for basic stuff, lousy for serious work...

2
eurodude on 12/26/2014

Customer Service: 1.0 Quality Of Work: 3.0 Friendliness: 2.0 Pricing: 2.0 Overall Experience: 2.0

This review is for the service department. I bought my car elsewhere but have been bringing it here for various service because this dealership is very close to where I live. Everything has been great until December 1, 2014.By now, many 2012-2014 Toyota Camry owners have heard of the now-famous torque converter lock-up shudder and the software update designed to "fix" it. Well, it does NOT fix anything. The shudder remains or gets worse. The Toyota procedure to fix the problem is to replace the torque converter, replace the transmission fluid and replace the two pan magnets with four new magnets. This particular dealership only did the update when I went there on December 1. After I called them and mentioned that the problem still exists, the service advisor (Andre Uy) (who, by the way, is nearly impossible to get a hold of) and the service department manager (Maher Nijem) have been calling me and asking to call them back. Well, I work 5-6 days a week and can't be conducting personal phone calls while at work.If anyone from the dealership's management ever reads these, I want my vehicle repaired at no charge to me per the instructions in the associated TSB released by Toyota.As it stands, I am very much disenfranchised with this dealership and will be bringing my vehicle elsewhere for service. I am also disenfranchised with Toyota in general.On a side note, my wife had an appointment scheduled early morning of December 24 to have an update performed and have something else done and was told that a technician who can do the update will not be in till later in the afternoon. What kind of xxxxxxxx is this? Why did the person she spoke to schedule an appointment knowing that this will be a busy and short-staffed day? She, too, will be taking her vehicle elsewhere from now on.


2015 Prius purchase - Great Experience

5
fred.fermin on 11/27/2014

Customer Service: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

We came into City Toyota via the Costco Auto Buying Program to buy a Toyota Prius. We met with Wil Cho, who was exceedingly helpful and knowledgeable. He made the car buying experience painless and offered valuable advice to help us in making our decision. We can, without hesitation, recommend City Toyota, just make sure to ask for Wil Cho. Our experience with Wil was in stark contrast to our first car buying experience at Mazda of Stockton, which was horrendous. But that is another review for another group.


It is the worst experience I ever had!Do not come here,...

1
al23 on 01/04/2013

Customer Service: 1.0 Quality Of Work: 1.0 Friendliness: 1.0 Pricing: 1.0 Overall Experience: 1.0

It is the worst experience I ever had!Do not come here, it'll raise your blood pressure & in the chance of having a heart attack. Rude!!!


Great deal , Great Service.

5
Tom Mark on 10/30/2012

Customer Service: 5.0 Buying Process: 5.0 Overall Facilities: 5.0

I was give a great deal on a used Infiniti G35. It came with a full carfax and thier own safety check list. A list of minor repair made on the car. I was given a better interest rate than my credit union gave me.


Professional

5
SF Bob on 05/05/2012

Customer Service: 5.0 Overall Facilities: 5.0

Very professional and big and busy dealer. Very nice and accommodating.


Service rep answered questions had; service done so...

5
BE84 on 03/15/2012

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Service rep answered questions had; service done so promptly was shocked when rec'd call that car was ready for pickup; very nice bonus for a free car wash on my schedule; pleased was able to redeem certificate for service rec'd from Christmas with donation to Toys For Tots; enjoyed snack bar offering complimentary food/drink with service; and last but not least the open space of facility and cleanliness !!!


Let's be honest here, when you speak of City Toyota...

4.4
joenick17 on 12/10/2011

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 4.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 3.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

Let's be honest here, when you speak of City Toyota there's this notion full of negativity that I myself experienced it. It happen when I try purchasing a new car from them late this year. I end up paying a lot instead me getting a good deal out of them. In this current time when everyone is experiencing hard time due to our bad economy there's this few sales person or shall we say a person who handles all your paperworks will try to sell you a brand new car loaded with useless extras just so they can profit for themselves,add to it, their percent commission, even though you don't really need it will insist, that you need this and that ,which in turn will put you deeper into debt , instead of helping you to be able to pay your debt easily on owning your dream car ,will in turn be a horrible nightmare as soon as you find out, it's already too late, they repo your car plus you enc up having a bad credit, just as so they can make a profit for their ownself, even though they knew what the consequences will be at the very end. Putting all of this at the back of my mind, my vehicle was due for it's scheduled maintenance. I got no choice but to go back there dealership and let them do the service to my vehicle. And then these happen yesterday, I made an appointment the day before and I scheduled it 7am. I ended up driving to the place 7:30 am half an hour late for my schedule. As I lined up my vehicle to the advice bay, this person approaches me assessing and doing what he can to make me feel at ease knowing enough that everything will be taken care of. Be it may I need to publish his name...HENRY ENG, he may not be the mechanic or one of those fancy wearing salesman, but HE of all the person in that dealership made me feel assured, treating me not like another typical customer but a client he listens too, practically doing his very best of servicing clients, being true to his job and self. Planning for my next service Maintainance . Now, if only the management of City Toyota will look into why am i bragging his name, it's for all of you to find out , learn from him and experience for themselves how to treat a client , gaining confidence that your client will surely come back again and again which in turn will be good for both parties alike. Calling the CEO of City Toyo... Better listen to your customer rather than not! I'm hoping the next time I visit City Toy, HENRY ENG with his humble self will again help me make everything goes easy and pleasurable to everyone. Boss CEO time for promotion to those who deserves it and shuffling or may be Boot Camp for those whose taking advantage off...you know who!


I took my Prius to get serviced at City Toyota as they...

5
dmearthlink on 04/26/2011

Customer Service: 5.0 Quality Of Work: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

I took my Prius to get serviced at City Toyota as they were the only one open on Sunday. I'm glad I did. They actually have a cafe at this dealership. I had not seen that before. I would definitely recommend this dealership. They were right on time with the service of my Prius as well.


We drove across the bay to buy our new 08 Toyota...

5
BWH on 09/29/2007

Customer Service: 5.0 Friendliness: 5.0 Pricing: 5.0 Overall Experience: 5.0

We drove across the bay to buy our new 08 Toyota Highlander from this dealership. Cindy Lee was the internet fleet manager that sold us the car. She provided excellent communication, sales, information and service. The price was the best from all the dealerships we checked and the actual dealership was so large, new and attractive. Everyone we came in contact with was terrific.


I was shopping around for a '07 Prius in Grey, and City...

1.5
Tina1028 on 08/09/2007

Customer Service: 1.0 Friendliness: 1.0 Pricing: 3.0 Overall Experience: 1.0

I was shopping around for a '07 Prius in Grey, and City Toyota contacted me to let me know they still had one in stock. They quoted me a price over the phone that I thought was a great deal, so I said I'd take it. Well, this was around noon on a Sat and I said I had to work and wouldn't be able to come by til 4. They said it wouldn't be a problem, that they'd hold the car for me til I got there. Well, I get there at 4 like I said I would, check in hand, and the guy I spoke to on the phone had apparently left for the day. I told them he had said I could pick up my car and that we had set the appointment earlier that day, so they called him. He told them that he had ended up selling the car an hour after I'd called! No apologies, no help in trying to make the situation right. Then they tried to upsell me a different package in a color I didn't even want!These guys are awful and I'd rather pay a higher price to someone who can keep their word.


It is the worst experience with car service I ever had!...

1
nui19 on 01/25/2006

Customer Service: 1.0 Quality Of Work: 1.0 Friendliness: 1.0 Overall Experience: 1.0

It is the worst experience with car service I ever had! He promised me my car would be ready by 6pm and they would give me a call. 6pm and no call! I thought they might be busy because they were lot of cars at the time I brought my car in, so I called them back 6.30pm, a guy picked up and told me my car was ready for pick up. When I arrived at the service, it was closed!! I went to talk to sales department but they couldn't do anything as they are seperated departments, and asked me to pick up my car the next morning. I scheduled to leave the town next early morning and my plan was ruined. STAY AWAY FROM THIS DEALERSHIP!!!!


Contact seller for price

Mileage: 6

Color: Silver

Transmission: Continuously Variable Transmission

Body Style: Sedan

City: Daly City, CA

Engine Type: 2.5L I4 16V PDI DOHC Hybrid

Contact seller for price

Mileage: 1

Color: Black

Transmission: 8-speed Automatic

Body Style: Sedan

City: Daly City, CA

Engine Type: 3.5L V6 24V PDI DOHC

Contact seller for price

Mileage: 8

Color: Silver

Transmission: Continuously Variable Transmission

Body Style: SUV

City: Daly City, CA

Engine Type: 2.5L I4 16V PDI DOHC Hybrid

Go to all dealer listings


® 2021 CARSDESK. All Rights Reserved.